We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AGAVA Restaurant

AGAVA Restaurant
381 Pine Tree Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850
607-319-4366
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 221 Restaurants in Ithaca
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: AGAVA is a Southwest-Inspired restaurant featuring a wood-fired oven, farm-to-table cuisine and a seasonal menu. The restaurant also has one of the most unique bars in the region, both in design and drink selection. Agava is located in the old East Ithaca Train Depot in Ithaca, NY.
Naples, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a wonderful restaurant. The food is terrific and the service is good. The drinks menu is very large (one of the very few restaurants which serve vsop brandy). It gets crowded and therefor noisy, so get a table on the deck if the weather is good. Very highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    72
    22
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I have visited Agava for dinner, and had an excellent dinner and cocktails. That being said, my husband and my 3 year old decided to go for brunch and had a really great experience. They were very friendly towards our son, supplied crayons and a menu to draw on (which doesn't always happen in nicer restaurants) the atmosphere was just as nice in the morning as it was at night, music was relaxing yet fun. They brought a basket of moist and sweet cornbread with butter and what I would assume was homemade raspberry jam, We both ordered the eggs Benidictos, which were delicious, the (local)Ham was tender, the eggs cooked perfectly, and the sauce was awesome. My son ordered a special which was peach pancakes with (local) Bacon which he gobbled up and after seeing his, my husband ordered his own plate of Bacon. I will say, next time I will definitely go back after noon for the live music and bloody Marys, which I missed. A nice touch to the coffee was the bowl of natural sugar cubes. Can't wait to go back!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammondsport, NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food, beautiful atmosphere, will definitely return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I went to Agava with three other friends before we went to a show at the Hangar Theatre. I had never been to Agava before, and I was struck by the beautiful design and style of the place. Everything was just beautiful. We ordered a couple apps, lunch, and dessert. I'm not a huge guacamole person, but theirs might change my mind! It was fabulous. I got the "Beat it" flat bread. The combo of beets, goat cheese, and jalapenos was fabulous. Everyone else was very happy with their selection also. We all got different desserts and they were also wonderful. I will definitely go back, as there was so much more on the menu that I wanted to try. The waitress we had was very attentive, and the rest of the staff was also. We were greeted as we walked in, and thanked as we left. A wonderful experience all around.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We loved the food, great variety and quality, fresh farm ingredients, smily friendly service, loved the wood covered wall and overall ambiance. When we came in it was extremely busy, mostly locals, which us always a good sign. The hostess offered to text me when a table was ready- great idea. We chilled outside on the rattan sofa. Loved this place!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Southwestern Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were a party of 12 and ate most reasonably including wine and appetizers. tasted the best black bean burger and tomato pie which was a daily special. Would definitely return.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AGAVA Restaurant also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to AGAVA Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AGAVA Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.