We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed views and art” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnson Museum of Art

Johnson Museum of Art
114 Central Avenue, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY 14853
(607) 255-6464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 18 attractions in Ithaca
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
Finger Lakes Wine Country, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not to be missed views and art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A gem in the Finger Lakes. If you are lucky enough to visit during one of their special events, try to stop in. If not, go anyway: there are always interesting special exhibits with a strong museum collection as well. Every now and then, a class is offered to the public.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A gem for art lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This beautiful museum, designed by I.M. Pei and recently enlarged, is located on the Cornell University campus and has breathtaking views of Lake Cayuga and the surrounding area, especially from the 5th-floor Asian galleries. But tear your eyes away from the windows and enjoy the excellent collection of Asian art. Part of the recent addition is an outdoor Japanese garden, a serene place to sit and relax. The museum just celebrated its 40th anniversary and it's a museum worth celebrating. The collection is wide-ranging and there are always good temporary exhibits and events as well. It is a very welcoming place, not only for students and faculty, but for the community at large, including families with children.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Execllent asian art collection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

While the asian art collection was excellent the other exhibits at the time we visited (september 2013) we found average at best. They were however redoing one floor that was not available for viewing. Admission is free (which was great) but while being on the Cornell campus we had expected a bit more of a wow factor in the exhibits. AS in all art you may or may not like this museum but I would not pass on it. AS noted in previous reviews it was not crowded so you can linger

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Though I graduated from Cornell in the era in which this museum was brand new, I had never actually visited it. It was a bit of revelation. It has a nice eclectic collection, especially in the Asian and Near Eastern galleries on the top floor. It also sports wonderful views of the surrounding areas. Do not miss the "everything that won't fit in the other galleries" room that is a bit hidden on the lowest floor. It has a wonderful collection of items from all over the world, including suits of Japanese and European armor. There is also a view into an interesting Chinese Garden from that level. Our visit was a bit rushed because we entered only an hour before closing time, but we very much enjoyed the short time we had.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Asian art collection - free and quick”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Not a huge museum and it is free. We are not big Asian art fans, but enjoyed the exhibit, nonetheless. We liked most the led ceiling and bench dedicated to the memory of Carl Sagan situated on a balcony overlooking the Cornell campus.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnson Museum of Art also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Johnson Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnson Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Johnson Museum of Art to your Saves list