We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to walk.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sapsucker Woods

Sapsucker Woods
159 Sapsucker Woods Rd, Ithaca, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 52 things to do in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A great place to walk.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I walk in Sapsucker Woods year-round. It's soft underfoot and easy on your body and there's a lot to see and appreciate on my walks. The Canadian geese who are protecting their young may hiss at you, but that only happens for a short period each year. It's a lovely place - highly recommended!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    16
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bala Cynwyd
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was visiting a friend who lives an hour and fifteen minutes away from Ithaca. I was interested in a nice walk and listening to birds. Her neighbor suggested the Sapsucker Woods. A wonderful surprise! The trails and terrific (soft beds), lots of birds, wonderful sounds, nice places to sit, nice gift shop, pretty building (welcome center). I can't wait to return!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice bird education center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Lovely walks and trails. Very family friendly. Interesting displays when the center is open. Look for the heron nest with the web cam in spring and summer.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca NY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful peaceful spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a lovely bird sanctuary that houses the Cornell Lab of Ornithology. You can sit in comfortable chairs and stare out at the preserve, watching beautiful birds come and go; there's a nice gift shop, guided walks, etc. It is supremely quiet, like a nature chapel. Great place!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sapsucker Woods is a great spot for bird watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I think it is one of those great undiscovered places outside of Ithaca. As it is run by the Ornithology Dept it is a first class place with lots of interesting information about birds. We had a great deal of fun just walking the paths and seeing what we could see in a season when things aren't quite back to full throttle yet.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapsucker Woods also viewed

 

Been to Sapsucker Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapsucker Woods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.