We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot for a beer and a casual bite to eat.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scale House Brewery

Scale House Brewery
23 Cinema Drive, Ithaca, NY 14850
(607) 257-0107 ‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 234 restaurants in Ithaca
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good spot for a beer and a casual bite to eat.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were staying in a nearby hotel and found this place. Their house microbrews were very good. Food is standard pub fare. Average. It was kareoke night, so that was good for a laugh.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

40% Recommend
    2
    2
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

In reading the other reviews, I see that they go back a ways. Unfortunately, this was the most disappointing Ithaca restaurant we've eaten in for years. The low point? My wife's turkey club sandwich. And as she put it: "How can you ruin a turkey club sandwich?" The turkey was cheap pressed meat. And I, being a big fan of microbreweries was equally disappointed. My burger was done to order, but griddle fried and lacking in flavor. The only bright spot was the new and genuine restaurant manager. I hope he can manage to turn things around.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“late delivery, tasteless”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Order pizza from them last night. took them over an hour to get to my place. Pizza was cold and simply tasteless. Had to even add salt which is something I never do with pizzas. Had a Margarita pizza.
Sad that food delivery options are so limited in Ithaca...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“We only had beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We did not eat here but went to try their house brewed beers. They brew 4 beers I believe right there in the bar area. 2 were excellent I thought. If you like microbrews its deifnitely worth a stop as is Rogue's Harbor Inn just north of Ithaca.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Favorite NY-Style Pizza in Ithaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Awesome pizza, I recommend the "Popeye Pizza". Nice crust and good cheese. Far to get to, and I've never been there in person, but the delivery is excellent.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scale House Brewery also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Scale House Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scale House Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.