We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, Lindsay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Ithaca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Ithaca to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Ithaca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Thornwood Drive, Ithaca, NY 14850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hopewell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Thank you, Lindsay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A terrific Courtyard - and Lindsay from the front desk is just wonderful! She was very helpful in working out a snag with our reservation. From the moment I spoke with her before our arrival until our checkout, she was professional, friendly, and made us feel that we were in very good hands. In all my years of staying at Marriott's, she is by far one of the top 5 Marriott reps we have dealt with.

The hotel itself, while still undergoing some renovation, met all of the Marriott standards - comfortable, well appointed rooms; quiet; superbly clean; and well-situated. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Be patient and ask nicely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    77
    24
    3
    5
See reviews for
65
23
8
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I am a travel agent and recently stayed at this hotel while doing college tours with my son. This hotel is about 10 minutes to Ithaca College and Cornell. It was very easy to find. It appears to be at the end of a renovation. Our room on the 4th floor was completely renovated and it appeared that they were finishing up the 1st and 2nd floors. The room was clean and spacious, as was the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable. We had a rooms facing the highway and I never heard a sound and I hear everything.

It was a typical renovated courtyard. They no longer offer the buffet breakfast but they did have a counter service that you could order from but we did not use it as we wanted to go to the local College bagel shop which was awesome. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across this courtyard after finding most hotels sold out in presidents weekend. Though it was still being renovated in some areas the room was large , clean and new. The pool was open and my kids were the only people in it. The staff was helpful with food suggestions. The huge interactive flat screen in the Lobby was cool. The only downside was breakfast wasn't included .Good stay in Ithaca.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel just for a night. It was comfortable but there was nothing to make it special. It was very average and the whole atmosphere was cold and business like. I would not come back to this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

The good: rooms were spacious, clean, and nice, staff was friendly and helpful, beds were comfortable, breakfast was tasty. Located just ten minutes from downtown Ithaca with lots of dining options, and Cornell university.

The (temporary) bad: as indicated on their website when I made the reservation, they were in the middle of a MAJOR renovation. I've been to hotels mid-renovation before but never anything like this. The entire lobby was a construction site-ripped up floors, construction dust, bare walls, yellow tape, cones and tools everywhere. There was a little temporary lobby next to what used to be the lobby, and a side door set up for entry. It was impossible to get to the one working elevator, which had ripped up carpets and was covered in construction dust, without walking on uncovered floor and tracking dust on our shoes. On our last day, we were unable to order any breakfast items that weren't on the buffet because the refrigerator went down, which I'm assuming was due to the construction and power issues. The marketplace (a big part of the reason I choose to stay at courtyards) was down sized to a temporary mini marketplace which serves only water, beer and wine.

I would highly recommend this hotel when they're done renovating. Until then, unless you're comfortable in a construction zone, steer clear of the courtyard.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were booked here with a group and was not aware that the hotel was being remodeled. While the room was ok the common areas including the elevators were full of drywall dust and a mess.Definetely not work the money we paid. Very disapponting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I didn't mean to choose a hotel quite so far from Cornell for a conference trip, but I was extremely happy with the Marriott. It is only 10 minutes from campus or town, and their free shuttle service to and from anywhere in Ithaca is is marvelous, and makes getting around easy, fast and convenient. The rural setting, 2 minutes from the airport, is peaceful and pretty--and handy for early airline departures! My room was terrific: large, comfortable, nicely decorated, well-appointed and with a very pleasant view over the trees.The staff were welcoming and helpful. They were undergoing renovations when I stayed, so the entrance was a bit cramped, but they didn't let this interfere with the comfort or service. The only thing not functioning was the restaurant (other than for breakfast), which was a bit difficult since the hotel isn't in town near other eateries, but this was only a problem the afternoon I arrived, since I wasn't expecting it. Altogether, the staff coped well with the disruption and deserve credit for ensuring that all went smoothly.

Room Tip: My 3rd floor room at the front had a lovely view of trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Ithaca

Address: 29 Thornwood Drive, Ithaca, NY 14850
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ithaca
#8 Family Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Ithaca 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Courtyard Ithaca
Ithaca Courtyard
Ithaca Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Ithaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.