We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cilantro Martini!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mia Tapas Bar and Restaurant

Mia Tapas Bar and Restaurant
130 East State St., The Commons, Ithaca, NY
607 277 2000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 221 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Tapas, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Mia restaurant features fine cuisine from many Asian countries in a unique and beautiful atmosphere. At Mia we offer an eclectic menu and when available we pride ourselves in using local produce, sustainably harvested seafood, and hormone & antibiotic free meats for our Slow Food Pan-Asian cuisine.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cilantro Martini!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this place once before and the reason I came back was their very memorable Cilantro Martini! I'm so glad I came back because I was so pleased with their menu/food as well. Everything we had was tasty, fresh and creative. Their raw menu items were first class, their soups and salads were amazing and to quote my husband (I don't eat meats) he said their duck was killer! Speaking of vegetarians and such they had several vegetarian options that were yummy! I love this place and look forward to visit more often in the next four years!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    13
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant and great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I had dinner there on a slow Sunday night. The food was excellent (I had the sea bass) and service outstanding.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“I just don't get why this place is so popular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We were thrilled to hear that another restaurant was opening in town. Ithaca is a small place so much of our socializing revolves around eating. We have over a dozen Asian restaurants, most of them Thai. Mia's Is one of the newest arrivals in town and like it's sister restaurant, Madeline's, anchor the business district in the Commons. The menu is creative – Asian fusion – but the service is very slow. This is not the best place to bring a party larger than four people. The shape of the tables and the acoustics will make it difficult to have a conversation. If you are planning to attend a movie or a concert nearby, Make sure that you take into account that the service is slow.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great experience and Even Better Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stumbled across Mia on a stroll through the commons. We had originally planned to visit another asian restaurant but it was only 4:30 so we walked around first. I had heard great things from my friends about MIA so we decided to check it out. We both love spicy and exotic food. We had a great waitress who recommended a delicious bottle of wine. The wine and beer selection is fantastic! For starters we had the pork buns, the sushi sampler and the quail. We like to taste things. All were divine but I loved the pork buns best. Then the waitress bought our main dishes out separately as we like to share. She was more than happy to help us sample. First, The Lobster Shrimp dish. Oh my Gosh was it delicious! We also had the Scallops and those were perfect. The scallops absorbed the curry so elegantly. I think my mouth is watering just thinking about them. We had desert as well. I'd probably skip it next time.. After such an amazing meal, dessert was unnecessary. I noted other people have said the service sucks. Our waitress had good taste (she recommended both of our main dishes and our wine) and was very pleasant. MIA is really unique and I really enjoyed the experience. I look forward to a return visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was visiting one of my sons that attends Ithaca College and since we had such an outstanding meal at Mia last year, we had to have dinner there again this year. Meal was excellent as was the service.

Hint: Make a reservation as the restaurant is quite popular.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mia Tapas Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mia Tapas Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mia Tapas Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.