We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room with a View...in more ways than one” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frog's Way B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frog's Way B&B
211 Rachel Carson Way, Ithaca, NY 14850   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Room with a View...in more ways than one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We loved staying at The Frog's Way. It would not be for everyone but for us, it was perfect. The hosts are gracious and welcoming, the community is inspiring, the view is spectacular and the food is delicious. We are a family of five and we rented the entire lower floor for a week. This meant we used the living room area as a bedroom. As a consequence, sleeping space was excellent but living space was tight. We wanted to be outside hiking and exploring Ithaca anyhow, so for us, it was not a problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
8
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I came across Frog's Way when looking for places to stay in the Ithaca area. The EcoVillage is a unique, beautiful and peaceful place. The B&B is small--we shared the space with a family of four that was using the other room--but well organized and the kitchen is stocked with delicious organic and local goodies for breakfast. Visitors are invited to join the EcoVillage residents at a community dinner at the rock bottom price of $8 a person--we were fortunate to enjoy a raw food feast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring, md
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at Frog's Way during a college tour at Cornell. We loved the idea of staying in an Ecovillage and the B & B lived up to the concept! The room was comfortable and well cared for and the organic breakfast and homemade granola and yogurt was delicious. We woke up to a beautiful view of multiple Goldfinches outside our window eating their morning breakfast from thistle plants growing all over the lawn. Elan steered us to delicious restaurants and provided travel tips that made our Ithaca and Cornell visit much easier. It felt very special to have some time in this cooperative community and was a wonderful alternative to the pricey generic hotels in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Frog's Way B & B, located inside EcoVillage Ithaca, is by far and away our favorite place to stay when we come to see our granddaughter in Ithaca. The price is right for rooms that are lovely and comfortable in all seasons. In winter the radiant heating under the floor works wonders against the outside cold. We loved coming in & putting on our warm slippers! The kitchen and eating area is compact and functional. An adjacent large play room is available for additional eating or lounging space. We have used its table as a big computer desk and for games & projects. Elan and Rachel are gracious and considerate hosts. During our most recent visit this July Elan brought us freshly picked blueberries from their garden. So delicious, and the homemade yogurt is the best! Eating dinner in the Common House with the EcoVillage neighborhoods is also a great opportunity to experience some of this fascinating community.

Room Tip: Both rooms have great light from the windows with their views out over the landscape. The Lavender...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

You don't get more for your money and your soul in Ithaca than staying at Frog's Way. Coming from Concord, Ma we met friends from Toronto here and shared the whole bottom floor with them - 2 bedrooms, a sitting room, small dining area with breakfast stocked refrigerator, and a bath. Elan goes out of his way to supply your needs and advise you on the best events and sights in the area. We even shared a community meal with the residents of this eco-village. Used to eating organically it was a pleasure to find a place so devoted to organic food and green living. We felt very much at home here. Thanks Elan!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

While there are plenty of rooms/B&Bs in the Ithaca area, this offers a little something extra. The accomodations are priced right, clean, friendly, centrally located and informative. In addition, the B&B sets in the midst of a premier Eco Village, complete with 175 acres to hike on, organic gardens to browse and a monthly tour of real, 'green' living in motion (the last Saturday of each month). Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you plan on using the hot tub, I would suggest the Peach room. It sits right outside your window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a long weekend while we were visting Ithaca. We really had a great time and the food provided to us in the B&B was amazing! Elan made sure that we had everything that we needed during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frog's Way B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog's Way B&B

Address: 211 Rachel Carson Way, Ithaca, NY 14850
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bright, peaceful, "green" inn has spectacular views, miles of trails, a clear swimmable pond, children’s playgrounds, and hot tub, on 175 acres, 2 miles from downtown Ithaca. It’s part of an inspiring co-housing neighborhood, with a car-free commons, at Ecovillage at Ithaca. Our kitchenette is stocked with a healthful breakfast of local, seasonal, homemade organic foods. You can bring and prepare food as well. Our whole house (6 bdr) or parts is available for special occasions. You will come away nurtured and inspired. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frog's Way B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Frog's Way B&B to your Saves list