We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gluten Free Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Wood-Fired Pizza & Pasta

Ciao Wood-Fired Pizza & Pasta
2 Hickory Hollow Lane, Ithaca, NY 14850
607-257-2233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 248 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Ciao! Ciao! is a casual fine dining, Italian restaurant that invites all ages. We specialize in Italian food with an authentic Tuscan flare. We also offer artisan pizzas that are hand-crafted and cooked to order in our wood-fired oven, which is visible throughout that restaurant. The pizzas and pastas are specially crafted, and everything we serve is made from the highest quality ingredients and is all made in-house. The ambiance and décor has a distinct personality that sets a mood for high-energy fun and entertainment.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Gluten Free Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

GF pizza is hard to find, and this hit the spot. High quality, good ingredients, tasty. Is out by "Ithaca Mall" and Google maps cannot locate it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    64
    14
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband I were visiting the Ithaca area and found this place online. We were a bit skeptical from some earlier reviews but found the food to be really good, and great service as well. We noticed the sign on the front door says they stop serving dinner at 9pm which seemed early to us but I get the sense this town closes a little early. My husband who is part Italian commented it was the best linguine and clams he's had in a long time. My pasta with bolognese sauce was fantastic. We really enjoyed the whole dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton,nc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Come for the food. Not the service or atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Food was great. Had the burger panini and the presentation and taste were great friends had pizza and salad. Skip the salad fries were great. Waitress seemed like she didnt want to split the check up after dinner but didnt ask us if we wanted it split. Overall if your looking for good food at a fair price its worth the time

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Overall we were very impressed with this restaurant. Four of the five people that went ordered chicken parm and were beyond impressed. It was delicious and the portion was so much that everyone had enough to take home for lunch! I had the lobster ravioli and it was excellent. We also ordered the chicken wing app which was tasty, but the wings could have been a touch crispier for our taste. The risotto cheese ball app was just ok...too much risotto and not enough cheese but it was fun to try. Caesar side salad was ok too...nothing to write home about. A little disappointed that they charged two bucks for small kid-size plastic container of applesauce for the baby...but overall a great deal. Bill for 5 adults and two babies came to about $140 with tip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We found Ciao on trip advisor and were disappointed. We had a really hard time finding the place and it is out of the way away from Ithaca. We had ordered pizza and thought like most pizza places we would be receiving a large pizza as requested. When we picked it up is was very small and not worth the high price we paid. The pizza was also burned which resulted in us wasting most of it. Will not be returning to this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Wood-Fired Pizza & Pasta also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Ciao Wood-Fired Pizza & Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Wood-Fired Pizza & Pasta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.