We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never judge a book by its cover.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
503 North Meadow Street, Ithaca, NY
607-277-2220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 241 Restaurants in Ithaca
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cheektowaga, NY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Never judge a book by its cover.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

From the outside, this restaurant has nothing to recommend it. However, the interior is beautiful and simplistic with tables set at a good distance from each other for a bit of privacy.

My husband and I were seated in the small dining room upon entry into the restaurant. Our drink order was placed immediately and our water glasses were never empty. (That's service!) If you ask for a soda, you will be given a can of soda and a chilled glass. (Perfect!)

After reviewing the extensive menu, we split an order of fresh rolls, and were served four very large and delicious fresh rolls...a bargain for $5.95! They were accompanied by peanut sauce and another sauce that was spicy and yummy.

Our cups of Tom Yum and Tom Kha soup followed and we finished them in short order. Our waitress asked us how 'hot' we would like our soups prepared from 1 to 5. We both ordered ours as '4's and we weren't disappointed. My nose was nearly running by the time I took my last spoonful of soup.

Our entrees arrived seconds after we finished our soups. I opted for the Galeng Karee (yellow curry) and my husband ordered the Pra Ram Long Song. Again, we were asked the heat level that we wanted our entrees prepared. I absolutely love that they do this! Our entrees arrived in bowls and our rice came beautifully prepared on a plate. High raves all around!

Although we didn't have any room left for dessert after this wonderful meal, we just couldn't resist. My husband ordered the fried ice cream and I ordered the roti. He thought that the ice cream was okay, but I definitely fell in love with the roti.

Parking is limited in the lot, but is available nearby. The service is stellar and the food is fantastic. I can't imagine a higher recommendation for this restaurant. If you dine here you will definitely be pleased.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great duck!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Great Thai restaurant with 10% discount for Thai student at Cornell. Duck with rice and pad Thai were really good. Roti for desert was amazing! However, without a car, it was really hard to get there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Loved it again..and super pro service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

A well managed gem worth your consideration. Forget trying to have a view from a (terrible) waterfront restaurant and go have a great dish of curry or duck or seafood from this popular place. This is my second visit in a year and my chef friends lunch here all the time. When in Ithaca I go where they go!
Extensive menu with delish gyoza and a to die for sauce. If you like spicey request 3.5 to 4 on the Richter scale and you will enjoy the chile kick in your entree. Our server and busser
were terrific, well -trained pros.

Take your own bottle of special wine ...corkage is only 8 bucks. Or they have wine..
Wish I had a place this good near me. Keep up the good work. We will always be back!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Can get very busy - decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The first time we went was a Friday and there was over an hour wait so we did not stay. It is a fairly small restaurant so be prepared to wait if you go on a weekend evening. We went back to have lunch instead, it was not busy. Our food was good. Portions were not that large. Service was good. Prices are a bit high.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“College town Thai at a reasonable price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We're from the SF Bay Area, so we're spoiled... But the dishes we were served were either heavy/greasy or too cold. Nothing tasted as if made to order. The prices are very reasonable so if you aren't picky, this might be the place for you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.