We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trip Hotel Ithaca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Trip Hotel Ithaca to your Saves list
Trip Hotel Ithaca
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Sheraton Drive, Ithaca, NY 14850   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Ithaca
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I planned a day of Wine tasting on Lake Cayuga, and this hotel was more than sufficient for our needs. I was weary, as I am EXTREMELY picky about hotels I stay in. I have to admit I was very nervous because the reviews I have read.

The parking lot does need some work, and the outside of the building as well. The hotel is a tad older overall, but the room was extremely clean and comfortable. They had a mini-refrigerator, heat lamp in the bathroom, makeup remover towelettes (which even some of the nicest hotels do not provide for their guests), along with a coffee maker and a small seating area.

The reviews that I read online were extremely dramatic, and inaccurate on many accounts. The staff was more than helpful and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. I would most definitely stay here again, the location was great and the price was right. We barely spent any time in the room at all, so for what we had planned this hotel surpassed my expectations on all levels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    24
    28
    66
See reviews for
52
22
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We booked the Clarion University Hotel online and were taken aback when we first arrived at this hotel. The parking lot was a minefield of potholes and the outside of the building did not look like a typical hotel. We drove around trying to find the main entrance. Even that was difficult to locate. There were no signs. I walked through one door and found myself in the lobby. The girl at the desk was very friendly and welcoming. She completed our registration quickly and efficiently. Before I knew it I had the room keys and we were on our way to the room. The entrance we were directed to was right at the laundry/housekeeping area where evidently they allow workers to smoke. We were pleasantly surprised when we got to our room. It was very nice; a bit dated but clean and neat.

The desk clerk suggested a nearby restaurant for dinner. We walked over to a strip plaza and found a nice little place tucked away. The food was good and we enjoyed buffalo-style chicken wings.

The complimentary breakfast in the morning was a bit more than you would expect. It was in a large dining room with lots of tables. All the serving dishes were kept hot so your eggs, sausage/bacon and sausage gravy were hot. There were made-to-order waffles you made yourself. Again, we were pleasantly surprised.

Although we were taken aback initially, it didn't turn out to be a bad experience. "Don't judge a book by its cover!!"

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmett, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Do not be fooled by the pictures. I stayed here for three nights and it was terrible. I had to move to another hotel. I arrived at around 5:00 A.M. and it took around twenty minutes to find someone so I could check in. I was so tired I did not even notice the room condition. I was able to get a little sleep before going to work at around 11:00 A.M. When I returnedd in the evening my room had not been touched, I thought I just missed their cleaning times so I made the most of it. The next day all that had been done was my dirty towel was replaced and the bed was sort of made. Nothing else was cleaned. I had enough and left the next day. The only thing that was adequate was the Internet.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bethpage, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel several times. While badly in need of updated decor and a desperate paving of the parking lot, the hotel is clean and comfortable. Breakfast was more than adequate, with an omelette station. We were there for our son's college graduation, and the hotel made a serious effort to be upscale. The first day there were "goody bags" in our room with water, snacks, and a map of Cornell, as well as Cornell's daily newspaper. The second day there was a Cornell teddy bear. The third, champagne and chocolate. While the room rates were quite high, with a three night minimum, this was true for all hotels in the area for graduation weekend. I applaud their effort to make this a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The lobby is very well done, the breakfast wonderful and the staff we met were very friendly and accommodating. Our room was comfortable, nicely decorated and the bed was exceptional. There is renovation going on and when it is finished, this will be an outstanding property. Keep working on that renovation and parking lot!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans Mills, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

From the crumbling unsafe parking lot, to the disgusting room, this hotel was an embarassment to the Clarion name. We book the room as part of a tournament and did not have time to look for another room, or we would never have stayed. There were cobwebs behind the bed (we noticed while looking for bedbugs). An old pair of socks were on the floor. Hair and crumbs on the carpet. The coffee pot had used coffee filter in it. The laundry room and mechanical room were open to the hall and they were disgusting! The bathroom had no exhaust. The corners of the floor were encrusted with dirt. The ceiling was in disrepair. The finishes in the room are outdated. The wall paper in the bathroom was dirty and the wallpaper in the bedroom was peiling away.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed here for a basketball tournament. The hotel was very run down, and from other reviews, appears to be in the process of a long standing renovation. Our room was filthy! The sheets on the bed were dirty, garbage was left under the beds, and the carpets had not been vacumed. There was evidence of bugs in the room, and there were bugs coming out of the bathroon sink drain. The bathroom, itself was also not cleaned ... hair all over.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trip Hotel Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trip Hotel Ithaca

Address: One Sheraton Drive, Ithaca, NY 14850
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Trip Hotel Ithaca 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home and discover gorgeous Ithaca NY and Trip Hotel.Conveniently located near Tompkins Regional Airport, just down the street from Cornell University and within walking distance to Triphammer Market and the Shoppes at Ithaca Mall. Trip Hotel serves as a great home base from which to explore all that Ithaca has to offer.Known as the “Little Apple”, Ithaca is rich with a variety of cultural attractions, events, and restaurants for visitors of all ages.Nearby recreational and entertainment areas include Cayuga Lake, Greek Peak Ski Mountain, Watkins Glen International Raceway, Historic Downtown Ithaca with the Ithaca Commons, Ithaca College, The State Theater, The Hanger Theater, Cayuga Wine Trail, Taughannock Falls, Buttermilk Falls State Park, The Science Center, Cornell Lab of Ornithology, Johnson Art Museum, The Museum of the Earth, The Cayuga Nature Center, Rockwell Museum of Art, Corning Glass Center, Mackenzie Childs Studio, Tompkins Cortland Community College, and SUNY Cortland, .With 106 comfortably appointed guest rooms, Trip Hotel offers affordable accommodations with attentive service.At Trip Hotel our guests can enjoy our fitness room featuring PreCor Cardio equipment, our large heated indoor pool, lobby lounge featuring a wide range of local food offerings, our express “build your own breakfast” bar Monday – Friday and complimentary transportation to the airport, Cornell University , Cornell Business Park and The Shoppes at Ithaca Mall.Whether your visit with us is for business or pleasure you can stay productive in one of our business class guestrooms and take advantage of our free wireless high speed internet access and our 24 hour business center with free copy service.All Trip Hotel guest rooms feature plush triple-sheeted pillowtop sleep sets and are equipped with coffee maker, iron with full sized ironing board, hair dryer, refrigerator, high speed wireless internet access, 32” flat panel television and a safe large enough to accommodate a personal computer. Rooms with microwave are available based on availability.With over 7500 square feet of flexible meeting space, Trip Hotel is an excellent venue for hosting many events from a small board meeting and retreats to large conferences and elegant weddings. Trip Hotel’s Grand Ballroom can accommodate up to 375 people banquet style. To ensure a seamless business or social function, the hotel’s professional staff will arrange and follow through with every detail of your event from set up and menu selection to decorations and audio visual needs.Come stay with us to discover and explore Ithaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Trip Hotel Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel University Ithaca
Clarion Hotel University Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Ithaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trip Hotel Ithaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.