We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cocktail cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cayuga Lake

Cayuga Lake
Ithaca, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 18 Attractions in Ithaca
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Fishing, Motor-boating, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the largest of New York's Finger Lakes, this area is used for swimming, boating, fishing and other outdoor recreational activities.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“cocktail cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

as part of the wedding weekend - there was a cruise on Cayuga Lake - a huge and beautiful lake- it was fun seeing some of the big victorian houses on the lakeside - next time I would love to kayak...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    34
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very scenic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We recently had a family vacation near Seneca Falls, on the banks of Cayuga Lake. This area, like all other parts of the Finger Lakes region, is very beautiful with miles and miles of greenery and vineyards. The Cayuga lake itself is very large and s a great place for water sports (though using a manual, row boat in the midst of all the motor boats was rather difficult). All said and done, this is a great place to relax and unwind.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but not recommended for swimming.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great lake for sailing (45miles long!).
The negatives are that they are poisoning the water trying to treat the invasive species hydrilla that's taking over. So swimming is harder to do now. You have to time it so that you are swimming a month after the treatments, but before they treat it again... But it's a beautiful lake to look at.
For the next couple years, while these hydrilla treatments are happening, I'd recommend swimming in the gorges instead.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pound Ridge, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Picturesque farmland and wineries along Cayuga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Took a side trip on the way to Niagara Falls and what a beautiful ride. I couldn't get enough of the vistas, farmland, wineries and hills that surround the lake. Many of the farms had huge hay bales that made for great picture opportunities with green hills, huge weeping willows, barns and blue sky as a backdrop, it was really breathtaking.

We drove around the entire lake starting on the east side from Auburn, north to south on Rt. 90, passing through small towns and villages with a brief stop at Long Point State Park ($7 entrance fee). This is where I first heard the folklore Guns of Seneca. At first I thought it was just fireworks. I heard the noise to the left facing the lake and then heard one shot from across the lake. It was most likely noise propellant or m-100s used to scare birds, def. not a sonic boom or anything too mysterious, although it would lend to the romantic lore (or annoyance) of the area. The park itself is somewhat small, didn't see beach or beach access, just picnicking areas.

Rt. 90 parallels the lake but doesn't fully line it. You have to take your chances driving smaller neighborhood roads that aren't dead ends for waterfront drives. I was able to hear the cannon sounds again after stopping on the side of the road for more pictures.

After stopping in Ithaca, we took Rt. 89N on the west side of Cayuga Lake, stopping at the Taughannock Falls lookout. If you are driving on Rt. 89, it really is worth the very quick detour for a view of the falls. I almost didn't stop because, quite frankly, I was sick of driving and just wanted to get up to Ontario, Canada but I'm glad I did.

We cut through (interlaken) at some point to Seneca Lake back to I-90 W. Between the two lakes there was also beautiful farmland, barns, a few roadside stands selling sweet corn, etc.

Drive time: Approximately 3.5 - four hours total including lunch in Ithaca, about 1.5 hours, per side.

Would love to return for more time to explore!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“one of the best finger lakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

winery's were friendly for the most part. wine is sweet but preety good. only as for one tasting they don't mind if you share

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cayuga Lake also viewed

 

Been to Cayuga Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayuga Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.