We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornell Plantations

Cornell Plantations
1 Plantations Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850
607 255 2400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 52 things to do in Ithaca
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cornell Plantations is an area of great natural beauty - part of one of America's most renowned university campuses. With a combined 4,300 acres featuring the arboretum, botanical garden, and natural areas of Cornell University, Cornell Plantations has a lot to offer.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very scenic and relaxing. The only downfall is that it is in the middle of Cornell's campus and can be overrun with students at certain times. Also, they recently imposed pay-for-parking passes required for parking anywhere at the place (available at the main building). They don't enforce this too much, but be aware.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    20
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
BXL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“excellent place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

we had very pleasant time there during a hot summer day, very fresh and shady and refreshing. it is very convenient to go when visiting Cornell university.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wildflower walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Paths weave through the tall trees and along a waterway; the walkways are lined with wildflowers that are labeled. It is a pleasant, large loop that takes you through a cultivated forest. Cooling atmosphere on a very warm day.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Exuberant in Spring!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

There are all sorts of trees, flowers, paths, and places to contemplate Nature. The best part is that it is a walk away from Flat Rock, where you can sunbathe and walk in the rolling water.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Great for a relaxed stroll among beautiful flowers...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Cornell Plantations is a part of the university, divided into the botanical gardens and the arboretum. I especially enjoyed their herb garden; I saw plants that I have only seen in the pictures of books and they made a big impression on me, especially the large ones. The herb garden really has a vast amount of different types of plants, shown in an organized manner with some raised beds and a rectangular design. Plants past their blooming time like viola's were still flowering. It is a must see for all gardeners and plant-lovers! We were inspired to bring back with us, a colorful yarrow plant, like the ones we have seen there, to remind us of our trip (however no plants are sold there).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornell Plantations also viewed

 

Been to Cornell Plantations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornell Plantations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.