We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let your imagination go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sciencenter

Sciencenter
601 1st St, Ithaca, NY
607-272-0600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 18 Attractions in Ithaca
Type: Science Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Sciencenter inspires excitement for science through interactive exhibits and programs that engage, educate and empower. The hands-on museum offers visitors of all ages more than 250 exhibits, educational programs, a gift shop, an outdoor science park and a seasonal miniature golf course. Look, touch, listen & discover at the Sciencenter.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Let your imagination go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great place to take the kids. There are lots of hands on activities for all ages. They even have a toddler water table and play area. Birthday parties are worth every penny. The outdoor play area is so amazing and the kids love it. You can bring your own lunch and eat in the big eating room. They offer summer camps too. The family memberships are worth looking into.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    17
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We went there as a group of grown ups. We tried to solve a criminal case, by analyzing the evidence and data, we touched a living sea star wish, we played in the yard. I am sure children will have a fantastic time there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This museum has an unassuming look on the outside, but what the inside held was a real surprise. It has LOADS of excellent hands-on exhibits on several levels, good for mainly grade school and early teens. The more you wander into the museum, the more there is to do. Outside in the back, it has well built decking, with water activities, and noisy hands-on things to do - the metal tubing chimes were fun to play with. Some of the exhibits looked a little worn, but I guess that means that the museum is a well used place. Has a small but very decent gift shop. We visited with 8 & 10 year old grandsons, and this was a favorite on our travels.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nfo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“nice and cheap day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

comparing to a strong children museum of play is definitely on the smaller scale but never the less lots of activities for kids to do... easily can spend more than few hours there... staff is great... a special thanks to Leah for the many science boxes and her smiles.... will go again...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place to take kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've taken my own children here when they were children, taken other people with youngsters here of late. I have cotributed to the center and have noticed that all the kids seem to be having a good time

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sciencenter also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Sciencenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sciencenter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.