We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Hospitality; attractive facility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Danby Road, Ithaca, NY 14850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Ithaca
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toms River
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Comfy Hospitality; attractive facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the off season between students returning to Cornell University and leaf peepers. This is a cozy inn atmosphere rather than a hotel, but it had modern facilities. The rooms were clean and had a fridge and microwave. The base of the desk lamp included a convenient plug for the telephone. The medium sized pool was not only warm and in a warm room but also open until midnight. Great for returning from a day of waterfalls sightseeing. The fitness room had a variety of equipment and included a TV. Delicious cookies, coffee and tea added a nice touch. Everything was clean and well maintained. Michele at the front desk put a real smile on their hospitality. This isn't located downtown in the city, but that wasn't a problem for us. It is clean, everything works and the staff is more than pleasant. We found the listed price was more than we wanted to pay, but it paid to call and ask. Probably because of the off season, we got a substNtial reduction.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I'm so glad you had a great experience and with Michele too! She is fabulous. You described our facility so well and seems like you took full advantage of all we and our area had to offer. That's great! Your great customer service experience is one we strive very hard for. We encourage everyone to call us direct to get exactly what they are looking for..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    70
    22
    8
    8
See reviews for
101
40
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We came in a couple with two kids for 3 nights.
We got a comfortable suite that included all needed amenities. Beds were comfortable, good size bathroom, good location, good service and an ok breakfast.

Following this experience of ours we will look in the future for Country Inn brand. This is how you build a loyal costumer base.

Important tip - do not book it through Expedia as you won't get the loyalty points or miles. Instead, call their 1800 number and they will price match to Internet price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments. You will find this type of consistency across our brand. We are pleased the suite setup worked well for you. Be sure to ask for a suite at the properties when booking, the extra space is truly worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We loved everything a out except the smell in the hallways and entrance. It smelled like bad BO with heavy dose of curry. But once you enter your room , it was wonderful and you forget the hallway! The beds were comfortable, rooms were clean and roomy! The staff was very nice, breakfast was pretty good. It's a straight shot to Cornell And easy to get to. Ithaca college is just a short distance from this hotel on the same street as well. There is a great little organic and not so organic deli right across the street with great food! Would totally stay here again, inspite of the hallway smell :0)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we are researching the hall odor and rectifying. I'm glad once you were in your room where you spend most of your time, found it was much fresher. Our housekeeping staff does a great job in ensuring everything is just right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A fairly new site for this flag, the hotel is perfect for a weekend stay or several days. The rooms are spacious, clean, and offer all the amenities including free wireless. There is coffee 24/7 and an included breakfast in the AM. The staff is pleasant and accommodative, and the rooms allow for a peaceful night of sleep. Additionally, unlike some other hotels in the area they do not require a 2 night stay, except on rare occasions. The only negative is what I would consider a slightly elevated price for the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
You hit the nail right on the head! We are great for a quick visit or a longer stay! We love that you enjoyed yourself and our facilities. Our rates may be slightly higher than other hotels in our area but you will find the size of our suites is much larger than what you will find elsewhere. All those freebies too, like free Wi-Fi, breakfast and fresh baked cookies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BXL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed five nights: staff is very friendly, shuttle service, parking and breakfast are included inthe room fee. It is about 10 min from the university and it is better to have a car. The room was quiet and there is always a cup of tee or coffee at the hall.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for staying with us while visiting Cornell University. It sounds like you were able to enjoy our complimentary shuttle service. Yes, many times it is better to have a car as there are so many great things to enjoy in Ithaca. Our numerous state parks, the wineries, downtown, fantastic restaurants, the colleges and universities and great arts. We welcome you to come back and enjoy more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My family and I spent two nights at this hotel in July 2013. The reason for the stay was that we wanted to visit the Robert Treman State Park and see the area. The hotel is very nice and countrylike. The suites are really nice with comfortable beds and a nice sitting area with TV. Breakfast is above average, the breakfast room is cozy. We very much enjoyed the cookies and possibility to take coffee in the reception. The staff was very professional and helpful.

The only negative thing would be that there was no terrace with seating areas and it was very hot, while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
The Parks are one of the many great reasons to visit us and I'm so happy you discovered just how beautiful they are. It was a very hot summer at some times and thankfully great Air Conditioning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

the reception was nice. there was a good cup of coffee awaiting with nice biscuits. the rooms are large but unfortunatelly there is no terrace at the room. Pool and fitness are ok. Service was excellent, we had a small issue with our credit card and thanks to the swift and good action of the employee at the front desk it was very well solved. Thx again for this. Location is very good.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! I'm glad our front desk staff was able to address the credit card issue quickly and ensure all was taken care of before you left. We want to ensure you leave happy and come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca

Address: 1100 Danby Road, Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ithaca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
#6 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Ithaca
Country Inn & Suites Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Country Inn Ithaca
Ithaca Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.