We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy we chose this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Danby Road, Ithaca, NY 14850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Happy we chose this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I only spent one night here, but were happy we had chosen it. It is close to downtown but there's no problem finding a place to park and it's in a very quiet location. We were delighted to have a Jacuzzi tub in our room even though we hadn't requested it and enjoyed the fact that there is a lending library on the premises. I started a book there that I finished by ordering it from my local library, but I could have returned it at another location or mailed it back to Country Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    76
    25
    9
    10
See reviews for
122
42
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We came to Ithaca so my daughter can visit Cornell University. I looked around to see what options were available and the Country Inn had a reasonable rate and the reviews were favorable. The hotel is kind of outside of "town" so if you are arriving around dinner time, eat before you check in. The only place nearby was a small pizza place. There's not much nearby so you don't have to worry about noise. When we were there in late June, they were doing some construction work on the intersection where the hotel is located so there may be a slight delay getting in & out. Construction noise is not an issue.

We actually stayed here two separate times. The first night we got a suite w/ one queen bed. The living room was spacious although it was kind of dark. We turned on all the lights and even then we thought it was still not bright enough. There was a microwave & small fridge w/ coffee maker. The bathroom was a good size, not cramped. The bed was comfortable. There was a TV in both the living room & bedroom.

We stayed here again two days later. We made a loop around central NYS and made no plans for the third night. We started driving down along Cayuga Lake and saw that we were not far from Ithaca. Since we liked the hotel, I called to see if they had rooms for that night. The clerk was nice enough to give me a room at the same rate I paid two nights earlier even though the rate had gone up by almost $60 for a mid-week! This time we got a suite w/ 2 queen beds - nice!

Breakfast was good. There was enough seating area for everyone when we came down - 7:30-8:30ish. USA Today & Wall Street Journal available. Cookies available at night. What more can you ask for? We would stay here again if our daughter goes to school in Ithaca.

Green Features: they had a card on the bed that gives you the option for the maid not to change your sheets every day. good idea.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
It's so great that you thought of us on your trip back through the Ithaca area. We strive to make repeat guests out of everyone. As you can see we love our repeats! Luckily that town construction you an into was only temporary as they ran new water pipe lines. I'm glad the noise wasn't bad! We look forward to seeing you once again in Ithaca when your travels bring you back through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband, college-age son, and I just stayed in this hotel for two nights. The suite was quite roomy. The bedroom had two queen beds, a dresser, TV, nightstand, lounge chair and closet. Meanwhile, the living room had a sofa-bed, lounge chair, desk and work chair, dresser, coffee maker, TV and its own closet. My son chose to stay on the sofa-bed; it was great having privacy, and it was terrific that my son had his own TV and his own closet and lounge chair. There was plenty of room.

The room was clean, the bathrooms were nice, and the hotel was very quiet. It was 90 degrees both days and the air conditioner/temp controls worked great.

The hot tub was very enjoyable ... not too hot, just right.

The breakfast was reasonable. Hot items included French toast and bacon the first day, and scrambled eggs, ham, and roasted potatoes the second day. Make-your-own waffles always available, and the usual assortment of bagels, pastries, oatmeal, fresh fruit, cereal. The breakfast area uses real plates and real silverware, which I consider a very nice touch. I never saw the breakfast area crowded. Everything was organized well.

Delicious coffee, decaf and hot water, as well as those wonderful, fresh cookies were available round-the-clock.

Front desk staff, breakfast room staff and even housekeeping staff were uniformly welcoming and friendly. We even got a little note from the housekeeper asking us to call her if we needed anything additional!

The lobby had a large book that included menus and photos from some notable restaurants in Ithaca, as well as local attractions such as Cayuga River Cruises. That was very helpful to us, when we needed to find a spot for lunch.

Overall, this was a terrific stay. To be fair, I do have two negatives to report, but they are both pretty minor. One was that as I walked around the perimeter of the pool area (after using the hot tub), I noticed quite a few dead bugs and what looked like (in one section, near a back door) even some droppings. I presume that they'd had some extermination work done and just hadn't cleaned up the dead bugs yet, but it did not look too nice. Second, one day when the hot food section had three items, there were only two serving ladles out, so as a result, bits of ham ended up in the eggs, and bits of potatoes in the ham, etc. I have no idea why they didn't have 3 serving spoons out, but that seems easily fixable. (Like I said above, these are pretty minor negatives).

Overall, we had a roomy suite and the staff were efficient and friendly. It is only 3 miles to downtown Ithaca. We would happily stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evian
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early May and were very happy. The staff were unfailingly welcoming and helpful. The rooms are large, well equipped, comfortable and clean. The Inn is in a quiet location outside Ithaca but with very easy access to town. There is a gas station, store and ATM right across the road. It is also within easy walking distance of the Buttermilk Falls State Park with its beautiful waterfalls. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thnaks for your kind words! Our staff enjoys their interactions with all our guests and we strive to make everyone smile and feel comfortable. We love having you stay with us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not a bad stay. The room was very clean. The only issue was breakfast. During our stay a lacrosse team was there and they line for breakfast went out the door the room (which was very small). I do think the price we paid was little expensive for the hotel. We went down to Ithaca for the Book Sale and enjoyed the whole day in Ithaca. Buttermilk falls park is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for your comments. Yes as you see when teams are in we do get quite busy in our breakfast room. I the weather is pleasant you are always welcome to enjoy breakfast out front on our patio in our comfortable rockers or you can take a tray back to your suite. With so many sights to see in our area and activities going on I hope you see the value in the price you paid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our small family of three stayed at this hotel for a mini stay-cation. We live in Horseheads NY and take the 30 minute trip to Ithaca on at least a monthly basis. We decided to stay over to enjoy the wonderful sites of Ithaca for two straight days. As a Club Carlson member the Country Inn and Suites Ithaca Finger Lakes was an easy choice. We are so glad we made the decision as our accommodations were just Awesome. At arrival we immediately felt like royalty. A custom family welcome was printed on the message board and as an Elite Member our standard room was upgraded to a suite without even having to ask  The sitting room in the King Suite was a spacious meeting spot and the separate bedroom (with door) was a great buffer zone when bedtime rolled around. ALL Staff present were EXTREMELY courteous and friendly. Complimentary fresh baked cookies and continuous coffee on tap is a Great Touch. The Pool and Hot Tub were both initially set at perfect temperatures and the exercise room well equipped. Our only complaint came in the form of a Monday Morning “Cold Tub”…. As our 4 year old described it. Evidently Monday morning is the ‘convenient’ time for maintenance to clean the hot tub :/ Therefore we lost this amenity on day 2 of our stay. Overall Great experience and wonderful stay. Exactly what we have grown to expect from Club Carlson and the Country Inn and Suites name. This hotel group is, Hands Down… THE BEST place for a family to stay!!
Club Carlson is the BEST Hotel group out there!! If you enjoy custom upgrades, late and early checkout option and real breakfast food on real plates. All rooms are great... but join the Club and you will always get the best room the hotel has to offer.

Room Tip: The suites are very well worth what ever the extra price may be. The vallet view option is not real...
See more room tips
Green Features: Teriffic Green Sopt!! Loved that they had a recyling bin in our room. Of course we separated and smiled that they added this touch :) They also have a compostable recepticle in the breakfast room!! Perfect teachable moment for any family.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you valued Club Carlson Member! I'm so glad you have found the value in your membership. Upgrades are just one the great benefits. It is our pleasure to host you any time you are in the Ithaca area, or just need a night away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Recently I travelled to Ithaca, NY with some colleagues for a conference. We made reservations at the Country Inn & Suites a few weeks in advance. We arrived late morning, so we stopped in at the hotel to double check our reservations. They said we were all set to check in that afternoon. HOWEVER, when we came back later to check in, we were told that they double booked our rooms. We were then sent to stay at an Econo Lodge 15 minutes in the opposite direction of the conference we were attending. We were not the only people this happened to that day. I would never make a reservation at this hotel again, and I highly recommend that you choose a different hotel to stay at if you are travelling through Ithaca, NY.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
I apologize for the experience you had with us. Long term stay guests extended their stay and left us short on a sold out weekend. Your group leader obliged to the move as numerous other conference attendees were there as well and we were taking care of the room charges. It was not the most convenient of set ups, but it certainly came out cost-effective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca

Address: 1100 Danby Road, Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ithaca
#4 Business Hotel in Ithaca
#5 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Groupon, Carlson, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Ithaca
Country Inn & Suites Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Country Inn Ithaca
Ithaca Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.