We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, nice staff, very clean, nice location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Danby Road, Ithaca, NY 14850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Ithaca
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great stay, nice staff, very clean, nice location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great stay when visiting Ithaca College or Cornell University. Clean, well managed property with a great breakfast and nice amenities like cookies and coffee all day. A great state park with a waterfall trail is just behind the hotel.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. We love our location too! Nothing like having natural beauty just outside the door. I'm glad your stay was a pleasant one - that's exactly what we strive for with each and evry visit. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    61
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
88
36
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tenafly, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel and had all the amenities we needed. When we visit our daughter at Ithaca College, we try to stay at this Inn. This hotel is the closes location to Ithaca College and its very quiet area. We stayed in the downtown area before which is very congested and noisy. This inn serves a free hot breakfast which is great way to start your day (waffle, sausage, cereal, and eggs). The rooms are very nice, spacious and comfortable. In addition, the service staff was very attentive and friendly. There are also fresh baked cookies, coffee and tea ready for all throughout the day. This hotel is nearby to all local attractions, downtown restaurants, wineries, Ithaca College and Cornell.

I highly recommended this place to stay!

Room Tip: The suites are very nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for your great recommendation and your loyalty. We work very hard to service our guests visiting Ithaca College and the surrounding area. I'm so glad you have discovered all that we have to offer. Our suites are a real treat in Ithaca!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Sadly, this is a very nice hotel but I have to hammer them on the most important part of staying in a hotel: SLEEPING.

The beds are rock-hard, there is no blanket on the beds (it's hidden in the closet) and we had to use the heavy bed spread and turn up the AC. The pillows were like kleenex-filled bags. No support at all.

We slept little more than 1 hour at a clip and woke up in pain each morning.

Housekeeping also was lacking. Toilet paper rolls were at 15% each. Mirror was not wiped.

Free breakfast was good and there was 24hr hot coffee available.

Management - you have a nice place here. Buy better pillows and keep the blanket either on the bed or visible.

Also - too expensive ($420+ for Fri + Sat stay)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I'm so sorry to hear you did not sleep well. Beds are certainly a matter of taste, and with that in mind we keep foam pillows and blankets in the closets for our guests to change if they choose not to use the feather pillows on the beds or the duvet. Having a choice is nice and giving these options, it is our hope to not dissapoint any of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights to visit my daughter at Cornell. We paid for a 1 bedroom which we found was very clean and well maintained. Our room came with a mini fridge, microwave and 2 TV's. I was able to use the business center which was nice but only 1 of the 2 PC's in the room was working. This hotel also has an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, and fitness room, which can be used until 12 midnight which was really great. Also, hot breakfast was included with plenty of choices including, yogurt, fruits, cereals, oatmeal, bagels, donuts, muffins, waffle maker, french toast, eggs, sausage, juices, coffee and tea. The staff was very friendly and courteous and we appreciated the staff who made us feel at home with cookies and coffee/tea in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and described us so well in your review. I take pride in the great staff we have, and put a lot of confidence in them that they will continue to do all they can to make our guests' stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our room came with a jacuzzi, it was a very large room, and everything was spic and span. Breakfast was good as well, typical hotel continental breakfast fare. The only thing I wished for was a wall around the jacuzzi, so the room would not get wet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Room was very nice. Bed was excellent and well set up with a fridge and microwave. Cookies and tea were nice in lobby. I would recommend this hotel. Location is close to Ithaca college and not too far from Cornell. There are no real restaurants close so plan on driving around. Shuttle is available in a five mile radius.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The place is about 3 miles out of town, but everything was clean, beds were comfortable, staff was friendly, hot breakfast was included, and there were even free cookies when we arrived. Best place we've stayed in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca

Address: 1100 Danby Road, Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ithaca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
#6 Family Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Ithaca
Country Inn & Suites Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Country Inn Ithaca
Ithaca Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.