We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Front Desk Staff!!! Clean Rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Islandia Long Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Islandia Long Island to your Saves list
Marriott Islandia Long Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3635 Express Drive North, Islandia, NY 11749   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Islandia
NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Front Desk Staff!!! Clean Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The GOOD:
-Excellent front desk staffing, James and Marta were wonderful and deserve many compliments.

-The room was really nice and clean no complaints.

The BAD.
-The mens room outside the bar was disgusting, piles of used napkins overflowing in the mens room soaked in blood, and the elevator door look like service elevator doors. This place could have easily gotten a 5 star rating from me if the maintenance staff actually cleaned the public bathrooms and maybe scrubbed down the heavily marred elevator doors which were are a total eye-sore when you sit at the upstairs bar.

$149 price is reasonable, hopefully they can fix these minor items and all will be well.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the back of the building otherswise you hear the wedding DJ's at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    100
    52
    15
    9
See reviews for
103
53
13
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just stayed there for a wedding. My husband and I requested a king size bed but were forced to sleep in two separate double beds. Concierge didn't seem to care at all. So much for a romantic weekend away. The shower was dirty (other people's hair stuck to the floor and wall....disgusting!) and there are only two elevators for this ten floor building so prepare to wait at least 10-15 minutes to get downstairs or upstairs. Pretty ridiculous.

I had heard this place was very nice for conferences, etc., and I am someone who is very easy to please. This place, however, was extremely disappointing...the shower skeeved me out more than anything else! The only plus was that the beds (while they were only double size) were very, very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We came into a beautiful atrium, had a beautiful well-appointed room, but everything else was very disappointing. First there were no available luggage carts. Then, although we three couples twice requested nearby rooms, that didn't happen. Although it was 4:40 and check-in is 3:00, the room wasn't ready. When we got in, the fridge didn't work, the window latch was broken, and the AC kept recycling so that it ranged from 60 to 80 degrees.
I don't know what was more noisy, the AC going on and off or the room doors that banged all night and all morning. Can't they adjust the closers?

At the breakfast buffet the service was horrible. Hard to get coffee even. Had to get the buffet for $15.50 if you simply wanted a piece of toast, we were told there was no a la carte

Finally, there are two elevators for over 200 rooms on ten floors. Had to wait ten minutes to go up or down.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hempstead, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great hotel and extra courteous staff at this hotel. They have a large pool, great exercise room overlooking the pool and the breakfast is delicious. Its close to home a great getaway. Only drawback is that they eliminated the hot tub due to new handicap regulations/ What a shame. Missed it.
The hotel is currently doing renovations so call first.

Room Tip: Nerar good restaurants and places to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I was here with a group for work. The hotel is older and they are installing new elevators. They had the foresight to have someone at the 1 working elevator along with the freight elevator. This person greets, holds the door and communicates with the other employee the location of the elevator and the guest is directed to the closest one to avoid long waits. Every person that we encountered during our stay was extremely pleasant.

My room was comfortable and clean. I woke one morning to find water with black stuff rising in my tube. Maintenance was there promptly, repaired and cleaned it.

Continental breakfast with scrambled eggs, beautiful fresh fruit, freshly made oatmeal with all the toppings, along with breads and cold cereal is offered in the Concierge Lounge to those on the 9th & 10th floors. Key access is required. I really enjoyed it and I typically avoid Continental breakfasts. Also, snacks and dessert are offered in the evenings and there's an attendant on duty when it's open. Alcohol can be purchased. They have The Bistro, but I didn't eat there. Others in the group did and they were not satisfied with the service at all.

The hotel is convenient to the freeway and many restaurants. A car is required.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here on business for 4 nights in July. The is a good standard Marriott which large rooms and good business facilities. The major problem is the food - the breakfast buffet is not good quality probably because not many people staying there. The bar area is small in the atrium and you can here all the people in the swimming pool at the other end but worst of all was a bad streak and bad fish I had on the two night I ate in. Also note the air conditioning does not work well so if you go on a hot day as I did then sleeping is a problem.

Room Tip: Higher floor the better - get outside facing not atrium facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waretown
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband I recently stayed at the Islandia Marriott. It was a great choice,and we will
most certainly return.

The GM,Damien,personally sought us out to ascertain if we were pleased with the room.

The Hotel was very clean ,and we could see employees constantly working to keep it
in that condition.

The management has instilled in each employee a desire to make sure each guest feels
welcomed . It is obvious that they love their jobs.

Two employees were very helpful ,and they should be commended.
Kala at the bar during lunch,and Ana our server at dinner. These people are examples
of employees who make their guests feel welcome.

Please stay at this hotel in Long Island

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Islandia Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Islandia Long Island

Address: 3635 Express Drive North, Islandia, NY 11749
Location: United States > New York > Islandia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Islandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Islandia Long Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Islandia Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Islandia Long Island Hotel Islandia
Islandia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Islandia Long Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.