We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical Chinese restaurant..... The smell as you walk in...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New Grand Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
New Grand Buffet
1704 Veterans Hwy, Islandia, NY 11749-1512
631-582-3888
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 13 Restaurants in Islandia
Restaurant details
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not your typical Chinese restaurant..... The smell as you walk in...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was the first time in this buffet restaurant. There were five in our party and three were Korean, so we chose their type of food. The food choices were good and the food itself wasn't bad. But the smell of the restaurant as you walked in was absolutely terrible. Until you got use to the smell, it wasn't pleasant to say the least. maybe they have to steam the floors or something. I didn't think it was the food, because I have been into other Asian buffets bin the past and none ever smelled this bad.
Would I go back? NO! Should you go there? Its a matter of opinion. Maybe my sense of smell is more sensitive then other people.
you be the judge. Good luck.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    1
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bayport, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“was just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

too much fish!! not enough meat & chicken choices. PRICE ADVERTIZED on web site was not the same. was there 6pm sat night. Busy but not crowded. food was warm not hot. Had to wait for Crab legs. Service was good and friendly.
Will try again soon hoping for better results.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“FavotiteLong Island Chinese Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I am a Chinese food addict. Whenever I travel to Long Island, I have dinner at this buffet, although I don't prefer buffets in general. The food is fresh and delicious with good choices. The servers are hard working and polite. The only downside is that they do not put out enough snow crab legs. They are scoffed up as soon as they are brought out and they are not replaced quickly enough. We will return. Hopefully, that will be corrected and we will not be disappointed again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauppauge, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place has the most horrible waiting/serving staff ever! I recently went there to enjoy dinner with my family, long story short I sat myself, did not have dirty dishes removed and had to get my own soda(While everyone else is being served theirs)....... Anyhow, it was time to pay my bill and I put the amount of the bill with my reciept and was rudely read back my price because I did not place tip along with reciept ( Although it was not deserved I was going to leave it on the table), And I was truley disrespected and appaled. Good thing is I work for a local hotel and I will make sure we will never send any business to this establishment again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Islip, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This use to be the best buffet around but it has changed considerably. The food is always cold and lacks taste. The funishings have not changed in decades (do not believe the picture that accompanies this. This is not the place at all). It has gotten expensive and it is just not worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Grand Buffet also viewed

Islandia, Long Island
Islandia, Long Island
 
Islandia, Long Island
 

Been to New Grand Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Grand Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.