We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sushi was fresh and delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Takara

Takara
1708 Veterans Memorial Highway, Islandia, NY
(631) 348-9470
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Islandia
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Plainview, New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The sushi was fresh and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stopped in for a quick bite at the sushi bar. I had a miso soup and two raw fish rolls. The restaurnt was quite empty, but it was only 5:30pm. I has a tuna roll with cucumber and an ultimate roll which has tuna, salmon, yellowtail and avacado. I enjoyed it all. Staff was quiet but curteous. I will have to go again when there are more people there. They have a Zagat rating of 28, which is exeptional.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
not La Romana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Had the sushi sashimi lunch special, 10.95 for 7 pieces of sushi and a tuna roll, not to forget the delicious salad. WOW!! Yummy!! I love sushi, and this place is GREAT!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I enjoy the sushi very much, it is always fresh and clean and the Hostess Dasiy is great? The sushi delux is a great value

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best sushi I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have been going to Takara since 2006. I no longer live in NY as I did when I discovered them, but I always make it a point to go back when I visit as does the rest of my family. Their sushi is the best I have ever had in the US. I really enjoyed the presentation - whether it be a heart or a dragon or whatever creative design the chef for that day came up with it is always enjoyable. I love the noodles that they give you before your food regardless of what you order. I never can find those anywhere else and it is quite frustrating. I enjoy the indoor dining at Takaras. There are small tables, large tables, and booths as well as the sushi bar of course. There is nothing there I would not eat. The hostess and waitresses are always eager to please. My family and I enjoyed that they always remembered us, and knew what was going in our lives. (We have missed you! How is Florida? How is your mother?") Fantastic place, fantastic people.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mastic, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“We've stopped traveling to Huntington for sushi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We gave Takara a try a few years ago when we found Huntington too far to travel to. We have not been disappointed. We went last night. I had a toro appetizer which was fantastically seared toro with spiicy mayo.

My wife got an order of shumai which is always a hit.

Both of us got 2 each of their specialty rolls. Each about $10.

Service is good. You have to remember everything is made to order.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takara also viewed

Islandia, Long Island
 
Islandia, Long Island
 

Been to Takara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Takara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.