We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good upscale Indian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chutney Masala Indian Bistro

Chutney Masala Indian Bistro
4 west Main Street, Irvington, NY 10533
914-591-5500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chutney Masala Indian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Irvington
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bridge Street
Transit: Metro North ,Hudson Line From Grand Central Station or Croton Harmon Station to Irvington. Walk towards the water from the train Station which is right opposite the restaurant.
Wallingford, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good upscale Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Have been twice and enjoyed both visits. Friendly and helpful staff with tasty and well prepared food.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

A wonderful restaurant with great food and excellent service. Located in the great spot right by the Hudson River.
If you like Indian food - that's the place!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmsford, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Charming location in an old factory building overlooking the Hudson River is only the prelude to deliciously prepared meal served by a swarm of waiters. While the number of different waiters who served our table was a little overwhelming, the service was very attentive and gracious. They paid special attention to our "birthday" diner, without any prompting (other than listing the person in our open table reservation). Altogether a memorable dinner experience; We have been there before and we will be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent.....a keeper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

If you like Indian food...this is THE place for Westchester County.
Lovely views of the Hudson River...rustic setting...THE BEST food.
Lovely service...we'll be back..often!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lived up to "hype"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I had read and heard so many things about Chutney Masala and finally had a chance to go, when some family from Europe was visiting. (They had not had Indian food in quite some time!)
We had a group of 10 and they accommodated us quite nicely. The staff, from front door to table, were extremely courteous and friendly.
Everything we tried was excellent and we all enjoyed the meal thoroughly.
One thing I did notice is that they will NOT come over to the table in a hurry; they sort of expect you to take your time and they don't rush you. (We were all quite hungry and called the waiter over as soon as we all had decided what to have.)
The only small complaint I have is that when the waiter asked us if we wanted to have some baskets of Naan bread put on the table, he did not tell us the price ($12/basket). If we had known ahead of time, we would NOT have left them take the leftover bread away, but would have brought it home. (Although, when we broke it down, it only came to about $2.50 or so per person, which is quite reasonable.)
Can't wait to go back again and plan to take some friends there soon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chutney Masala Indian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Chutney Masala Indian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chutney Masala Indian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.