We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what expected according to reviews, show second house please” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Glass Magnolia Bed & Breakfast

Glass Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Interlaken
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glass Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Glass Magnolia Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
8339 Main Street (RT 96), Interlaken, NY 14847   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 4 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oneonta, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not what expected according to reviews, show second house please”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival, we were pleasantly greeted and shown the common areas of the main house. The hosts were very nice and accommodating. Premises was a quaint Greek Revival with the owners trying to stay true to the motif. After a brief meeting and discussion with owner, we were told that our accommodations were in another house. We walked in through an old cement porch with a musty smell but led into a nice spacious living area and kitchen area. Then we were taken down the hall to the Lord Cromwell room. Small, dark, musty, dirt and dust bunnies, and a hint of urine smell in the bathroom. Bed was a double size pretty high off the floor (no big deal). Bathroom has been updated as opposed the bedroom but needed some more thought. If you walk straight through the bedroom, you would enter the "sitting room" with no place to sit but a another bed and a slope to the floor that was down towards the back of the room that you could easily roll a pencil down with a carpet that looked as old as the house. The bathroom that looked like it was updated was spacious with new tile and a bath/shower. Just a shame that the shower head was chest height. Not only that, but most of the water pressure came from the cold water, not the hot. So I took a warm shower that hit my chest, left my head cold, and with not a ton of pressure. And to top this all off, the house was freezing. Sleeping felt like camping with a cold head and nose all night, my wife slept with her fleece coat on. The only delightful thing was breakfast. Stuffed french toast with strawberries and lemon, yum! Maybe the main house is better and the detached house is a work in progress but this should be stated and cheaper than their advertised price, especially in April. Quite disappointed and feel bad leaving such a poor review with hosts that were very nice, but nice doesn't make for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in main house, maybe you wont have to go outside in 35 degree weather to get a cup of co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Glass Magnolia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do our best to reserve rooms that meet our guests needs. Our house is over 150 years old and sloping floors are part of the charm of an old house. We do provide seating in all our rooms and strive to keep everything neat and clean. If there was an issue with the heat, we could have easily solved it had we known at the time. Our phone numbers, business and cells, are clearly visible in all the rooms should an issue ever arise. We were unaware of the problem with the shower pressure, but had a plumber in today to fix it. Hope you enjoy your next stay in the Finger Lakes area. Sincerely, Your hosts, Wally & Nancy Rudolph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Went back up to The Glass Magnolia Bed & Breakfast last month. Such a nice time. The 'new' owners have been continuously sprucing things up since they purchased it just over a year ago.
The rooms were nice & clean. Mine had a little fire place which was perfect to take the chill out of a cold winter day. At a little over 4 hours from the NJ/NYC area its perfect to get away for a couple days without stressing over the drive. Wally's breakfasts & Nancy's breads are all home made and well worth the calories & indulgence. The wineries are abundant as are antique shops, hiking, fishing etc...... Go, relax,enjoy!!!!!!!! And pet the dog...Phebe !!!

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

This place was fantastic to stay at. The owners are quite friendly and welcoming. The rates are also top notch. My favorite part was the breakfast in the morning because the cook was a chef for 30+ years at world class restaurants before he retired. The rooms are all unique and very cozy. We look forward to returning and recommending it to our friends and family!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apalachin, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

This place was great. Let me begin by saying that we headed up to the area with no plan or reservations and heard about the Glass Magnolia in our winery stops. We looked at a couple pics, called to check to see if it was available because it was March and too many places are closed up tight. Our stop was warm and friendly, the ambiance was just right for our needs...the room we stayed in was comfortable and roomy...and breakfast was a delight. Add Phoebe (the dog) to the mix and it was very pleasant. If you are not a dog lover, but not a hater, Phoebe is just right for you...not pushy, but very subdued and friendly if you want to be.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

I agree with Jessica L! Phoebe the dog is a wonderful welcome and starts off your visit just right! Nancy and Wally are so kind and warm and the main house is a wonderful 1800's gem. We stayed in the dog friendly room that has a door out to the back, but alas, our dog was home this time. Next time he will accompany us. The location is very central to the wineries and easy to find. The house to the right is also theirs and is deceiving from the outside. The inside is so beautiful and the entire 7 bedroom house can be rented for special occasions or for a group. We really enjoyed our French toast with apple compote and the cranberry nut bread that was served first. We got a chance to chat with Wally, who retired after over 30 years of catering and loves this new life at the B & B. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back in the future!

Room Tip: Next time we stay, we will stay in the 2nd house. The rooms there are luxurious as opposed to the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

This B & B is in the middle of so many awesome wineries and breweries and when a cute, sweet, old dog greats you at the door, you know you've found a quaint place to lay your head for the night.
First of all, this place is run by an adorable couple who care about who you are and what you like. They have two houses: the main house where some rooms are and breakfast is served and then the second house which is 7 bedrooms and all but two have their own bathroom. It has a fully stocked kitchen. This place would be perfect for a large family or a group of couples wanting to get away for the weekend.
Next, the breakfast was amazing. The meal started with fresh, warm homemade cinnamon apple bread, which was delicious. We were then offered Belgian waffles with berry sauce or a quiche kind of dish. Both were amazing and on top of that, you were also given fresh fruit, home made sausage, and potatoes. My fiancé and I left stuffed and with a whole half a loaf of cinnamon bread :)
We stayed in the 2nd house and everything was perfect. A home away from home and in a prime location. If you want some local Italian, head down the street about 10 minutes and check out Little Venice. YUMMMMM!

Room Tip: There was Wifi in the main house but the second house did not have wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Very clean and beautifully decorated, delicious breakfast, friendly and helpful owners, and great location near wineries. We took the quick drive to Ithaca and had a great dinner. We will definitely visit again. Thank you!!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glass Magnolia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass Magnolia Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8339 Main Street (RT 96), Interlaken, NY 14847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glass Magnolia Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.