We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Too Good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hayward House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Interlaken
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hayward House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Hayward House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
7884 Hall Road, Interlaken, NY 14847   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just Too Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Michele and Kevin have superbly crafted a setting that is both idyllic and delightful. Their gloriously restored historic structure is in the middle of farmland between two of New York’s Finger Lakes (Cayuga and Seneca) with nearby wine trails, cheese trails and plenty more to do.

Hayward House is a feast for the eyes – wood grain floors and moldings, richly painted walls in deep hues, carefully selected wallpapers consistent with period and rooms tastefully decorated - all together producing an eclectic mix of old and new. The owners have an attention for detail that comes through in both the appointment of the rooms and in their subtle touches such as scented goat milk soaps in the bath.

Breakfasts are superb – thoughtful choices of fresh fruits, locally produced yogurts and carefully crafted main dishes served at a wonderfully set table.

The Hayward House gives you the opportunity to “get away from it all” – to drink in the quiet and enjoy a visit to a simpler time and place.

We have been very fortunate with our selection of Bed and Breakfast properties. They have all been very good. Hayward House is absolutely among the best.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
52
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

My fiance and I had a wonderful stay at the Hayward House recently. Michelle and Kevin couldn't have been more welcoming - the house is kept in perfect condition and the breakfast in the morning is incredible! We were pleasantly surprised by the brandy and chocolates waiting for us in the room each evening.
The home itself is incredible and the hosts were very nice - helpful when we needed advice, but they gave us all of the privacy that we wanted.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

My girlfriend chose the Hayward House partly because *every single* review on TripAdvisor had been a positive one. And they lived up to that standard. The house was wonderful, the room was beautiful and spacious, Michelle is a FANTASTIC cook (the breakfasts were out of this world!), and there were lots of little extra thoughtful touches that were really above and beyond (homemade soaps and tons of toiletries in the bathroom, brandy and chocolates in the room every night, an iPod dock in the room, and many more). Stay here; you could not possibly regret it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I can't say enough about how absolutely wonderful Hayward House was. The location is idyllic, the house itself lovely, the room amazing, the food delicious, and the hosts just fantastic. I never wanted to leave. Thank you, Michele and Kevin, for such a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed here a couple of years ago - the review wouldn't let me post when I stayed though so that is why it says August 2010 - it was actually August 2008. I've just joined Trip Advisor so that's why I'm only posting this now. We stayed in a few places around the Finger Lakes and nothing even came remotely close to this place; it was amazing. The room was beautiful, the house gorgeous, and the breakfast was a real feast - everything homemade and to die for. We really, really enjoyed staying here and sitting on the porch late into the night. I would very highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

My husband and I were visiting the area for a wedding at a nearby vineyard and thought to make the trip a special weekend for us also. We chose Hayward House due to it's location (it's only 15 minutes from wineries on both Seneca and Caygua lakes, including the wedding), the competitive pricing (it was less than the wedding hotel which was 30 minutes away in Ithaca!) and the photos and descriptions on the website that really resonated with us - "quiet comfort", "spacious", "panoramic views".

It was our first time visiting a bed and breakfast and Kevin and Michelle blew us away - they were extremely welcoming and gracious hosts, the house itself has been carefully and very tastefully restored and the breakfasts they served with local fruits and ingredients were delicious. The sitting room available for guests near the dining room was a perfect way to relax before the wedding and the room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable.

Our expectations for all B&B's have been set very high thanks to our wonderful experience at the Hayward House and we hope to visit again very soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Hayward House lies outside of Interlaken in the middle of farmland and radiates a beautifully quiet atmosphere. The rooms are spacious, newly renovated and decorated with great taste. We got a delicious homemade breakfast and enjoyed the calm surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hayward House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hayward House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7884 Hall Road, Interlaken, NY 14847
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Ithaca, Watkins Glen, Seneca Falls and Geneva, The Hayward House Bed and Breakfast is your home away from home in the Finger Lakes region of New York.Unpack, unwind, and enjoy the bounty of local farms, market-fresh breakfasts, fine restaurants, micro-brewed beer, artisan cheese and chocolate, and award-winning wine. Celebrate the beauty of upstate New York's spectacular waterfalls while hiking the gorge trails, bicycling, boating, or horseback riding.For all the reasons you visit the Finger Lakes:Recreation . . .Relaxation . . .Restoration.You can get there from here. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hayward House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.