We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the BEST in the Adirondacks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Lake Restaurant & Tavern

Indian Lake Restaurant & Tavern
2 West Main Street, Indian Lake, NY 12842
(518) 648-5115
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Queensbury, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of the BEST in the Adirondacks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Great food, cool menu items, super friendly staff, casual and relaxed environment. I travel through the Adirondacks frequently, and have passed by this place for years until a strong recommendation got me through the front door. Let me tell you...this restaurant is now on my "must stop" list for dining.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Always good eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

In the Wilderness Area of the Adirondacks, this restaurant stands out as a culinary gem. Everything on the menu is good and service is quick once you get seated. This is a regular stop whenever we visit the Adirondack Museum.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneida NY
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Smoked salmon dip, duck wings, and pigs that fly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We started off badly - went there on a Tuesday, and despite their posted hours, found out that the restaurant was not open. Bummer! Went back Wednesday, and they were open! Good for us! After having so many experiences where the main menu options were just too huge, we ordered off the appetizer section. What a find! Smoked trout dip with crackers and lemon, duck wings with a tangy blueberry sauce, and "pig wings" with a nice BBQ sauce. Oh - BTW, excellent soup of the day. We still came home stuffed. The food and service were very good. The ambience can be a bit Adirondack "kitschy", but it was still an overall nice experience

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“best meal in the Adirondacks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The food rivals the finest restaurants. We were in disbelief that we found such well prepared, unique, world-fusion type entrees. Famous for their duck. Highly recommend the duck with blueberry, andouille and shrimp pasta, crab cakes, and Naan bread with artichoke pizza. Reasonable prices, big portions, friendly service. Don't be put off that it is part of a bar / liquor store. That just adds to to the local color.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Lake, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Havent had anything better than what they serve in any other establishment in our country.My husband & I eat there all the time.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Lake Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Indian Lake Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Lake Restaurant & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.