We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing anniversary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oheka Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Oheka Castle to your Saves list
Oheka Castle
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 West Gate Drive, Huntington, NY 11743   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Little Neck, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing anniversary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

My husband and I got married at Oheka Castle last January, and my mother surprised us by making reservations for us to stay at Oheka for our one year anniversary. At check in we discovered we were upgraded to a fabulous suite. While unpacking, room service surprised us with a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. We had an amazing dinner at their newly opened bar and lounge (also serves lunch). The beautiful decor, delicious food, and impeccable service makes for a magical night! Hope to make this a long-time tradition!

Room Tip: Every room in Oheka has its own charm, but the larger suites are definitely the way to go. If you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    30
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
94
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Got a great deal on a night here. We got the mid level room and it was certainly not your normal hotel room. Very tall ceilings, about 13 feet I would guess, and very large antique furniture. The bathroom was absolutely spotless, looked like it had never been used. Shower built with glass blocks and old fashioned claw foot iron bathtub.

You can tour yourself around the castle and see everything. The attention to detail is amazing. The owner has gone to great lengths to restore it to its original state. Take the guided tour, well worth it to learn the history of the place. Make sure you get to see room 401, this is the top end room that is about as big as condo and very luxurious.

We ordered room service and the food was outstanding, arrived fast and hot, and was reasonably priced. The included breakfast the next morning was also good with a wide variety of fresh fruit, pastries, and all the usual stuff.

Night we stayed there was a charity fund raiser and two very well known celebrities were there, casually chatted with one in the elevator, that was pretty neat as he was very low key and down to earth.

Staff was very polite and helpful. I actually don't have a single negative thing to say about Oheka. I highly recommend this place, strolling around and dining makes you feel like a character from The Great Gatsby.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This review is long overdue as we had our babymoon back in November but I felt our stay was pleasant enough to write a review for Oheka. When I first tried to book the babymoon package, I asked the reservation manager whether I could switch out certain items but was told I could not. Tours also were not available on weekends because the castle was booked out for weddings. Basically, I got the feeling that it's either pay up for the package or leave it. Since I really wanted to plan a stay at Oheka for our babymoon, I tried just making a normal reservation and telling the staff that it was to celebrate our upcoming arrival. When we checked in, we were pleasantly surprised with a room upgrade to a Whitney. Although the castle was booked for a wedding, we were able to enjoy walking around the castle grounds, take lots of photos and relax in the beautiful clawfoot tub in the room. The snack basket in the room was a nice touch and turn down service showed attention to detail. We made reservations at a nearby restaurant called Amicale for dinner to celebrate and came back ready to relax. The softness of the down pillows and sheets is unsurpassed - up to par with 5 star hotels like the Omni Berkshire in NYC. I took off one star on this review only because of the unaccommodating staff whom I initially spoke with in trying to book a modified babymoon package. Being in the service industry, It's important to be flexible. And if not, at least be courteous and not pretentious about it. Otherwise, everything else about our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I stayed at Oheka with my girlfriend for a romantic night and for a special place in which to propose. The castle is truly a wonder of refurbishment. The grandeur it has been restored to is incredible and really makes it the Versailles of North America. The staff were also very friendly and we both thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Definitively worth a visit for a night!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Oheka Castle on December 29, 2011 and found both positive and negative things. The negatives all have to do with the disappointing hotel accommodations.

First let me say that the grounds and the ambiance of the castle are awesome. We really enjoyed the beautiful décor and the groupon deal, which included a tour led by the fabulous Laura. Laura was wonderful and even received a round of applause from our large group at the end. She also was given many compliments for her ability to provide the group with excellent information about the estate in a captivating way. The owner, Gary, really did an amazing job restoring the structure to its original form. It is a great place to visit and I can certainly see why so many people have their weddings there.

Unfortunately, my husband and I were extremely disappointed with our rooms. If you notice, I use the word roomS as plural because we were actually moved after I complained about the first. I actually called the Hotel Manager and spoke to him about my situation after we left, so hopefully you will have a better experience.

First thing you should know is that the photos on the website of the rooms were definitely not what we saw in the two we were in. First we were put in a Chateu room. This was surprising because when I initially made the reservation, I requested a king size bed and a Whitney room. The young lady on the phone told me she had already reserved that for me and I thanked her. When we arrived, we were given a king size Chateu room and the lighting was very dim despite having all the switches to the highest levels. I felt like I was in an attic. When we put on the tv, the doors to the armoire kept closing. We tried several different times to get the doors to stay open, but they would not. We had to use the chairs to prop open the doors so that we could watch tv. I was also disappointed that the tvs were so old especially since the photos on the website show flat screen tvs.

When I called the front desk to ask why I was not in a Whitney room and to report that the doors to the armoire would not stay open, the young man was nice and found a Whitney room for me. I went down and exchanged keys and we moved down the hall. Unfortunately he did not inform me that we would now have a queen size bed, but I overlooked that because we now had a nicer bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub. We unpacked our things and went to dinner.

Dinner was not the best service. It took 20 minutes to get our check. Our waitress, Rosa, was very nice and gave us our two beers on the house due to the lengthy wait. We appreciated her hospitality.

Back in our new room, I decided to try out the bathtub. Unfortunately there was something wrong with the water pressure. The tub took 45 minutes to fill above the jets. You did not misread that. It really took 45 minutes (from 9:45pm until 10:30). When the water finally reached 3-5”above the jets, I pushed the button to start them. Nothing happened, so I tried again. My husband tried too. Even though we figured the switches in the room had nothing to do with the tub, we tried flipping all the switches in an effort to get the tub to work but to no avail. I called downstairs to let them know. The following day when I got home and called to complain, the manager told me that there was a switch to control the jacuzzi and someone should have told me that. Unfortunately, even in the call I made to alert them to the problem, they did not tell me what to do.

So overall I gave this an average rating solely because of the accommodations. If I was just rating a trip to the Oheka Castle for a night on the town, I would say that the food is very overpriced, but I feel like you're paying to just be there which is really nothing short of amazing. It's a really cool bit of history that you learn on the tour as well, so for the tour and the castle grounds and main floors---I'd give this an EXCELLENT. For the accommodations---if you lower your expectations and don't expect it to be superior, you probably wouldn't be as disappointed as I was.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHEKA, Manager at Oheka Castle, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
We regret that the reviewer experienced so many issues with their guestroom and thank them for taking the time to let us know about their experience at Oheka. We have taken appropriate actions within the company to ensure better service is provided in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Overall, a really nice experience, friendly bartender. We really enjoyed going into the little town and shopping and grabbing dinner both nights. As an Interior Designer, the thing that drove me crazy was the lack of going all the way with decor, it felt like some French style furniture were sort of tossed in there with some silk arrangements. There was not a sense of design plan. Coziness lacked due to very little ambient lighting. It is beautiful and has loads of potential. Just felt like it needed to be tweeked up a couple notches in style and decor.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I agree with others that this place is really hit or miss. The castle is gorgeous and some of the staff are very friendly and knowledgeable on its history while others less so. I don't mind that it's lacking in some hotel amenities because the rooms are luxurious. My main complaint is that the food is subpar at best. We dined in the restaurant on site. Our meals were pre-ordered a week in advance and even so, the 3 course meal still lasted 2 1/2 hours! Even then, we still hadn't received the third course and had to ask for it to be wrapped so we could just take it to our room. The server told us this was possible but there was still a delay and she finally told us she would have it brought up to our room. I wouldn't have minded the wait so much had the food been worth it but it wasn't worth the wait or the price. The best part of the meal was the salad. The entrees were average and the risotto terrible. Same goes for the dessert. We were dining with 3 other couples, none of whom seemed to leave happy and one that voiced a complaint about the wait.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oheka Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oheka Castle

Address: 135 West Gate Drive, Huntington, NY 11743
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Huntington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oheka Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHEKA CASTLE is a majestic historic mansion located on Long Island's famed Gold Coast between New York City and The Hamptons. This French-style chateau is the second largest private residence in America and has undergone $30 million in restoration to transform this stately home back to its former 1920's grandeur. OHEKA is listed on the National Register for Historic Places and boasts 32 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites on the upper floors where guests can sleep like royalty. Guests can enjoy a leisurely stroll around the beautiful formal gardens designed by the Olmsted Brothers, play an 18-hole round of Golf or a game of tennis at the Cold Spring Country Club, take a mansion tour and learn about the rich history of OHEKA and Otto Kahn, or dine in the Bar and Restaurant before retiring to your uniquely designed guestroom for an in-room massage. Breathtakingly beautiful, OHEKA CASTLE is admired around the world as a premier venue for exquisite weddings and gala celebrations and has been the backdrop to many prominent film and photo productions. The refined European atmosphere and the feeling of being transported back in time to the decadence of the Roaring Twenties consistently gives OHEKA the recognition as one of New York's finest estates.Profile photo courtesy of Infinity Photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Oheka Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oheka Castle Huntington
Oheka Castle Hotel Huntington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oheka Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.