We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Gem Of A Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vitae Restaurant and Wine Bar

Vitae Restaurant and Wine Bar
54 New St, Huntington, NY 11743
+1 631-385-1919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vitae Restaurant and Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 207 Restaurants in Huntington
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: West Carver Street
Transit: LIRR Huntington Station. Taxi & Shuttle Service available at train station.
babylon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice Gem Of A Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Went there for Father's Day and was pleasantly surprised. The food was very good the service prompt and attentive and decor nice. I fell in love with their Sexy Sangria it's perfect for summer. All around a great place for fine dining.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syosset, New York, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I've driven by this place numerous times and finally stopped in. It was a Sunday night, so it wasn't crowded, but the staff was friendly and helpful. The menu had some great choices and the food was great! I started with their Lobster and Sweet Potato Bisque. I love soup and this was right up there with some of the best I've had anywhere. Followed it up with the Parmesan Crusted Chicken Breast. This was good, but probably not the best that they had to offer. Had their doughnuts for dessert. Another great choice. All in all, I'll be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice Scene, Attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is our fourth time dining at Vitae. The menu is varied and many choices are available for wines by the glass. Although busy, the bar scene and dining area do not compete against each other. The service is excellent. Appetizers and main courses were very good. Dessert sounded good, but fell a bit short of expectations.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outside is Nice but Owner/Manager is Not So!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We tried this restaurant because of a Living Huntington deal. We had been there once before and it was ok so we figured we would give it another try. The gentleman who greets you when you walk in was not very friendly. The first impression you get is when youre greeted in a restaurant and my wife and I were immediately questioning our choice. We were able to get a table outside which is lovely to sit in, even though there is no view. The food was decent, not terrific. During the meal, a local trying to sell flowers walked in and there was a confrontation with the manager. He didnt handle it well at all. Very disconcerting.
There are much better choices in Huntington, especially Black and Blue. We wont be going back to Vitae.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Really 4 1/2! A Very Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

A beautiful restaurant on a quiet street in busy Huntington, Vitae offers great service, very fine food and a cool vibe. Recently we were very pleasantly surprised by the fabulous and perfectly seared scallops with a fine chorizo rice accompaniment. Baked clams appetizer were bland but the decor and excellent service more than made up for that slight hiccup. We were not rushed and had a few hours to enjoy our friends in a "hip" place in town. A must stop in the myriad restaurant possibilities found in Huntington.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vitae Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Huntington, Long Island
Huntington, Long Island
 
Cold Spring Harbor, Huntington
Cold Spring Harbor, Huntington
 

Been to Vitae Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vitae Restaurant and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.