We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Paramount

The Paramount
370 New York Avenue, Huntington, NY 11743
(631) 673-7300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A venue like no other.
new york
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Paramount has great concerts. My friend is a founders member and we get great seats and the bar area is really nice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    38
    12
    5
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Concert Venue- Period”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place is the best! Great Location! Great Venue! Great Sound! Great Bands! Including Billy Joel!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Cliff, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sound quality is the main thing, right?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

First - it has to be said that this is a gorgeous venue for music and as a Long Islander who routinely goes to the city for live music, am so grateful to have it nearby.
That said - last night my husband and i went to see BB King (at 88, who knows how much longer he will be touring?) The sound quality was truly awful - geared only toward capturing BB King's guitar and the bass, at the expense of the horn and saxophone section and BB King's own voice. So okay - these things happen - but nothing was done to fix this as the concert went on! BB King tried to interact with the audience but since we could not make out a word he was saying, am pretty sure he did not enjoy that part either. So frustrating. We will try it again of course - but am noticing sound quality as an issue in other reviews. Perhaps some of this is unavoidable with all the exposed brick, etc - but ambience at the expense of sound quality is not a trade that people who really want to hear the music are willing to make. Hope our experience next time is different.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not the most comfortable spot--- even IF you can reserve a seat”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The venue has either assigned floor seats with uncomfortable folding chairs or no seats at all depending on the act. I counted 6 bars ( with no seats) and it is laid out like a dance hall with assigned movie theatre seats way at the back. Drinks are served in small plastic cups.

It is a small venue, but hardly what you would consider a theatre.

Be prepared to stand for three hours!!!! Also be prepared to be stepped on or pushed while standing on the main floor. They pack the people in. I had brought an older friend who was miserable and tired of standing. Parking is a big issue.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Small Venue / Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The paramount, formerly the IMAC in Huntington is a great place to see a show.
Its small but the sound is excellent and there's not a bad seat in the house. The prcies are reasonable as well.
You can purchase a cocktail and lite snacks once your inside.
Parking in the town is horrible so go a little early and catch a bit to eat or just walk around - great town too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Paramount also viewed

 

Been to The Paramount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paramount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.