We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it says 12 ozs, you shouldn't get only 9.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sapsuckers Hops & Grub

Sapsuckers Hops & Grub
287 Main St, Huntington, NY
(631) 683-4945
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 199 restaurants in Huntington
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“If it says 12 ozs, you shouldn't get only 9.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We usually love this place for a casual bite and outstanding beer selection, but the last couple of visits we were so convinced their glasses didn't hold the stated 12 ozs., that we actually ordered a 12 oz bottled beer and refilled the glass ourselves to prove it. And it was very disappointing to find out we were right. It also seemed like this only happened when they served the stronger beer and served it in a brandy snifter. We'd hate to think this was intentional to squeeze the dollar but it definitely left a bad taste in our mouths...and not from the pierogi's, those are great!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    12
    8
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“counting down the days unitl I can go there again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I went on a Thursday night around 7... it was pretty busy. (usually is thursday -saturday) We gave our name and sat at the bar to have a drink. Excellent drink selection, as per my BF. I dont know that much about all the different types of beer, but my BF does and he was totally impressed.

Before we could even finish our drink our table opened up. We had the pierogies to start which were AH-mazing! Then for dinner i had the Phily cheese steak and my BF had some sort of Pork on the bone... so tender just fell right off the bone. Im obsessed with their fries and the truffle dipping sauce.

All in all, a great experience, a little expensive, but its worth it. Cant wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Cozy place to grab some grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The food is great! the atmosphere is comfy and friendly. We enjoyed just hanging out at the bar and snacking on there variety of food choices.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great beer, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

The first few times I went to Sapsuckers I only had the beer, which was impressive enough to keep me coming back. After I finally tried the food, I can officially call myself addicted to this place. Everything I've had from their menu has been perfectly prepared and unreasonably delicious. Definitely check out the specials (the cheese stuffed burger is a major highlight), but also know that the nachos are probably my favorite nachos ever.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Many beers to try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

They ahve great service - -they know their stuff and the food is good!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapsuckers Hops & Grub also viewed

Huntington, Long Island
Huntington, Long Island
 
Huntington, Long Island
Huntington, Long Island
 

Been to Sapsuckers Hops & Grub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapsuckers Hops & Grub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.