We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B Will go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairlawn Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hunter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairlawn Inn
Save
You added Fairlawn Inn to your Saves list
7872 Main Street, PO Box 182, Hunter, NY 12442   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wintertripadvisor special
Ranked #1 of 5 Hunter B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great B&B Will go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

We booked our stay on short notice for the Labor day weekend. We were greeted by Chuck upon our arrival and given a nice tour of the house. There are snacks available to all the guest and the common areas of the Hotel are wonderful.
Chuck was very helpful with suggestions for places to go and routes to get there.
Chuck serves breakfast from 8- 9 AM and it is a great meal. The ingrideants are fresh and his recipies are fantastic. I had a smoked trout omellet that was just outragous!
The rooms are nice and clean and the beds are very comfortable.
We had a great stay here and planned our next trip during checkout. This has become our go to place in the Catskills.

  • Liked — A great Victorian home. Very comfortable , well located.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    24
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
20
86
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

The room was clean and comfortable.
Chuck is very courteous and helpful.
Nice breakfast. My only negative is the decor.
the common rooms are VERY tackily decorated - it looks like a new orleans bordello. Cheap reproduction stained glass lamps everywhere with strands of beads strewn about them to make the atmosphere look even more gosh.
This place would be a gem if the taste level were elevated.

  • Liked — The owner is a gentlman
  • Disliked — the hideous decor
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

(4.5 Stars) We booked a room at the Fairlawn Inn the very last minute--the morning of, in fact. The snacks were abundant and free, the bed was so comfortable, the room was immaculate, and the FREE breakfast the next morning--overeasy eggs, thick maple bacon, an english muffin, fruit, coffee and juice--was a treat.

While the Rose room was not really our style, the house as a whole was nicely decorated, and we got an incredible rate on the room. Chuck was perfectly helpful with us, recommending restaurants for dinner, as well as things to do in the area.

We would certainly recommend the Fairlawn to anyone in the area.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

We had booked the whole Fairlawn Inn for us and our guests for my daughter's wedding in the Catskills. Upon meeting Chuck, we felt that the Fairlawn Inn suited our needs and looked forward to his home-cook breakfast.s Chuck was very accomodating as our most of our guests hailed from overseas. We felt extremely at home in his Inn and we truly admired all this paintings and lovely decor. His lunch was excellently prepared and he sent a bottle of champagne to my daughter and her wedding party as they were preparing for the wedding. My relatives had a great time in the inn and loved the warmth and the beautiful ambience of the Fairlawn Inn. Chuck was indeed very helpful and was prepared to help us with any thing. He was just fabulous and when we go the Catskills, we'll definitely stay in the Fairlawn Inn. My daughter was very impressed with his hospitality. Great Inn and inn keeper.

Ann Flowers

  • Liked — The Inn, Inn-keeper
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

We found the accomdations superb and fascinating, the inn-keeper cordial, welcoming and enjoyable, the home-cooked breakfast delicious, and the ambiance unique and interesting. The location is excellent for Catskill tourism. The innkeeper was helpful in directing us to the beautiful sites of the Hudson River School of Arts paintings.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

I have to strongly disagree with the previous 2 negative reviews. My partner and I found this charming B&B after looking in a local magazine. We decided to book it on faith and had a wonderful evening.

We arrived and were greeted by the innkeeper and given a warm welcome. The room was clean and comfortable and while the TV was a bit small, you are in the catskills after all- who needs a huge plasma flatcreen? The home was decorated uniquely. There was never a dull moment looking around at the tasteful art and antiques. There was even a pool room which was such a delight!

The innkeeper was neither creepy nor pretentious. I found him a delight to converse with. He was friendly, smart, well traveled, witty and hospitable. After a long week of very little contact with anyone, it was pleasant to be staying at the home of someone so engaging and lighthearted who--unlike many other inn keepers or B&B owners, made you feel perfectly at home and didn't have any petty and inhospitable restrictions about roaming the premises.

I am an avid world traveler and overall I must say that this has been one of the most delightful places I've stayed in quite a while. And on a final note, the breakfast was exemplary. I highly recommend this inn.

  • Liked — The Pool Room, at home feeling, breakfast, personality of innkeeper
  • Disliked — That we only stayed one night!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

My husband and I had our first B&B experience at the Fairlawn Inn. Our getaway to the Catskills was planned around relaxation, the great outdoors, and beautiful surroundings. We found all of this and more at Fairlawn.

The reservation process was convenient. Directions to the Inn precise. All aspects of arrangements were easily made. At our arrival (which was a little earlier than we'd expected) we were greeted warmly by the Innkeeper/Owner. We were given house rules, if indeed this is the correct term, which are based on common courtesy and guest safety. We were pleasantly surprised at having access to several common areas which consisted of most of the first floor.

Hubby and I had discussed before our arrival that the atmosphere would be different than staying at a hotel. Although respect should be shown by guests at any establishment, we felt that entering someone’s home required that extra step. We felt that we gave that and the same respect was shown to us.

The house is spacious and beautifully decorated. Being a lover of the Victorian era, I was delighted to take in the antiques, artwork and wide selection of books. The lamps and stained glass were a delight. The long porches and gazebo areas offered a lovely view of Hunter Mountain at one end and the well planned gardens, patio and water feature at the opposite end.

The Gazebo Room located in the turret was like going back in time. Attention to detail could be seen everywhere. Breakfast was spectacular and well presented. We were happy to have Chuck join us (when all guests had been served) for breakfast both mornings of our stay. Like us, he has a tremendous sense of humor and we enjoyed the socializing as well as helpful tips on things to see and do.

All in all we loved our stay and would highly recommend the Fairlawn Inn!

Sheila & Joe from Pennsylvania

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairlawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawn Inn

Address: 7872 Main Street, PO Box 182, Hunter, NY 12442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hunter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hunter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1904 fully restored and updated Victorian Mansion. Nine bedroom B&B all with private baths, queen sized beds, Flat Screen TV's with DVD players, includes a full cooked to order breakfast. Centrally located in the Catskills with many attractions, within walking distance to Hunter Mountain a four season Ski Resort. Newest attraction is the Zip line adventure, the tallest and longest in North America. Adjacent to the Hudson Valley and many activities too numerous to mention. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairlawn Hotel Hunter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairlawn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.