We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful stay at Washington Irving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Irving Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hunter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Washington Irving Inn
6629 Rt.23A, P.O.Box 675, Hunter, NY 12442   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hunter B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful stay at Washington Irving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Had a wonderful weekend stay at the Washington Irving inn mid-February. Thoroughly enjoyed the staff, the lovely breakfast in the morning and the very cute and cozy room. Perfect place to stay for a weekend of skiing and great restaurant options nearby. Especially loved the tea time and homemade cookies in the afternoon. The host went the extra mile when I left a few personal belongings in a room and actually even shipped them back to me. Felt like home and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    19
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
30
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

It is a cozy place with a very generous innkeeper. Rooms are decorated with love and very clean. The breakfast is customized and prepared with fresh ingredients. We loved the evening at the bar and all the stories we have shared with Stephanie. Love this place!

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for labor day weekend as all other places in the area were booked up. We had room 14 which was a sweet wood paneled turret room. Small yet comfortable, warm and cozy and very clean. The bathroom was spotless with fluffy towels and the room had a flat screen TV with many channels. Breakfast, as others have mentioned was amazing as was the tea, served by the incredible Stephania who takes great pride in her inn. She is just one of those innkeepers who you know devotes herself to making this inn the best it can be and tries to ensure a wonderful experience for her guests. Highly recommend this peaceful and charming place. We will be back!

Room Tip: Loved room 14, small but very quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawling, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked a last minute getaway to the Catskills at the Washington Irving Inn. From my first phonecall, the Innkeeper, Stephania was a delight! We were looking for a pet friendly inn to bring our Newfoundland dog Kasper. There was no additional pet fee and there were special dog friendly rooms in "the cottage" at the back of the inn.

The Inn is beautifully decorated and Stephania and her staff make you feel at home. We had extra blankets on the bed and the heat had been tuned up for us. The room was cozy. Great value.

The breakfast was such a treat. Fresh fruit, coffee, juice, warm croissants and the most delicious pancakes I've ever had. We didn't have to eat again until dinner.

I would definitely recommend staying here. Close to everything. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Was here in spring for a beer festival. Kind of European flavor at this inn. Reminded me of my childhood since everything is of the era before tv. The dining room is charming and some good views from there. The owner is very pleasant and the outside porch is a good place to meet other guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and I always do Tap NY at Hunter, but we never stay b/c we are only about an hour and 1/2 away. This year we decided to stay. We picked the Washington Irving Inn b/c the reviews were decent and it was one of the few places that still had vacancy. I picked room 14. I was a little nervous when i read a review about this room and the shower. one review stated the bathroom was moldy. I can assure you the bathroom is not moldy. It was actually quite clean. Looks like it has been regrouted. The only issue with the bathroom was when you use the sink, it leaks from the bottom onto the floor. i think a seal needs to be replaced. The toilet paper is a bit on the rough side, but other than that the bathroom was nice and bigger than i expected. The room was bigger than i expected! My husband though it was small but cozy. I agree, it was small, but larger than i expected. It was quite cozy. The floor is uneven but you can expect that from being the oldest room in the house. The breakfast is amazing and so is the afternoon tea with the homemade pastries. The innkeeper stephanie was very nice. I don't know why some people say she is rude. She is very nice and accomodating. She is very busy and while i'm sure she would love to sit and talk to everyone she can't. She even prepared us afternoon tea for both days we stayed even though it was after the designated tea time! I enjoyed my stay at this inn and if i ever decide to stay in the hunter area would stay again. i recommend this place.

Room Tip: No elevator-if you have a heavy bag choose room on first floor. Do not miss the Breakfast or after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Falls, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Our REI Adventures ice climbing groups stayed with Stephania two consecutive weekends this winter. After long and strenuous days climbing frozen waterfalls at nearby spots in the Catskills, it was fantastic to be able to retreat to the warm and cozy Washington Irving Inn. There are restaurants and pubs close by for dinner and socializing. Stephania also has a small bar at the Inn where we watched the nightly news (and weather forecast!) and had a quiet glass of wine. Breakfast was delicious and hearty with fresh squeezed oj and real locally made maple syrup. Best of all was the kindness and hospitality Stephania showed us. I will always stay at the Washington Irving Inn when I am in the Catskills.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington Irving Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Irving Inn

Address: 6629 Rt.23A, P.O.Box 675, Hunter, NY 12442
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hunter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hunter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn circa 1890,in Catskill State Park. Distinctive architectural charm classy comfort and today amenities, splendid mountain views, authentic period pieces/antiques. Full breakfast and afternoon tea and home made pastries. Sophisticated reminders of yesteryear. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Washington Irving Hotel Hunter
Hotel Washington Irving

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Irving Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Washington Irving Inn to your Saves list