We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lucystwin2” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Mountain Hotel & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hunter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hunter Mountain Hotel & Spa
Save
You added Hunter Mountain Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
48 Clover Rd, Hunter, NY 12442   |  
Hotel amenities
Albany, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lucystwin2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

what a wonderful old fashion, country look health spa. The place is set in a wooded quiet area so peaceful and relaxing. It is not the high class hotel that you may be looking for, it is old and rustic but so very clean. The staff make you feel like your family. Even tho it seems out dated just remember that we come to lose weight. The chef is great, food is fantastic. The classes keep you hopping. The new indoor pool was wonderful that guy darek can build anything. I first arrived and thought wow please let me lose weight. I stayed 14 days and was encouraged every day by staff. omg i got on the scale and lost 18 pounds and never felt like i was starving. so the old saying is never jugde a book by its cover. GO there and hurry. i cant wait until june when i can go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    4
    5
    12
See reviews for
5
7
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Wow, where to start. Very poor experience for a high price. P,ace is dump, location only is good. Rooms seemed dated and not clean. Walls paper thin, difficult time sleeping with listening to neighboring rooms and people in the hallways. Breakfast very low quality. No food service available for us, had to go to town. Which turned out nice, as the town wad hoping with activity and good food. I just don't understand how this place dares to call itself a hotel and spa, and charge outrageous fees. Low end motel and the pool I was looking forward to using was not worth getting into with the extremely limited hours of being available. Stay away is my recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have read some of the negative reveiws and was very surprized. The spa is old, rustic and has never claimed to be the RITZ. The negative guests want to pay cheap but expect high class resort. This spa does what it claims, WEIGHT LOSS fantastic food that is low calorie but you are not hungary. The exercise class are wonderful. The staff there treat you like family even if its your first time coming to the spa. So dont listen to all the complaints on trip advisor about this wonderful place. i have been coming here for 15 years and its the greatest so take it from someone with experience of this health spa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Absolutely disgusting misleading deal. I bought a coupon for this by being led to believe this was for the real Hunter Mountain hotel and spa. I've been to the real hotel at hunter mountain and wanted to come back. Upon arriving, turned out that the only thing this place shares with Hunter Mountain is that it is indeed about 10 minutes from there. The place is actually called Vatra Spa, and it is some kind of a weight loss place, it has nothing to do with Hunter Mountain. There is no spa, not even a sauna! There is a 4' deep pool that can be used for 3 hours during that day, and nothing else! The place is old and run-down. Breakfast is practically non-existent - coffee and store-bought muffins and bagels. They charged me tax on the entire groupon purchase upon arrival! (hunter mountain DOES NOT charge tax on the lift tickets!)

I have paid almost $300 for one night at this place and two hunter tickets. Considering that hunter tickets cost $60 with advance purchase, I have paid $180 for a stay at a very basic run-down one-star hotel. This is a complete ripoff. Basic hotels around the area cost $75 per night. Not only I was misled into a place I'd never consider staying at, but I was ripped off.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSpa, Director of Sales at Hunter Mountain Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Its always difficult reading a bad review. We accommadated close to 1000 guests 2012/2013 season, and most were very happy. We are a weight loss retreat during the year and rent to skiers in the winter season. It is unfortunate that out of all the 100's of guests we have had, the negative reviews came from a handful of unhappy people. We are an older resort tucked away on private acres with tall pines, rock walls and big old fashioned porches to enjoy and just lay back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Booked this deal on Groupon with lift tickets. My boyfriend and I were going up for the night just to ski for the day and leave in the morning. What a dump. This place is in need of a serious makeover. The room was disgusting, filthy and certainly outdated. The staff was as discourteous as possible upon arrival. After seeing our room, we promptly left to find another hotel to spend the night, when my boyfriend turned in the room key and politely reasoned with the desk that the room was simply inadequate for our stay, she retorted that the place was just old and demanded our lift tickets back even though we hadn't asked for any sort of refund. We were out the price on the room and the tax charged upon arrival, a small price to pay to get the hell out of that drab "Spa". Better luck next time Groupon.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights. While our room and other facilities are dated, we did not focus on that. Instead, we made friends with other two ladies staying here and customized the program and the food. We asked Chef Chris to cook what we liked and the instructors to take us on two hour walks. We feel very rested and relaxed as a result of our stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Plainfield, New Jersey
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I bought the deal on Groupon. One night and 2 ski lift tickets. Where do I start? There is no spa. False advertising. It was her birthday, I book this trip as she loves spas....well, one does not exist there. Read other reviews. Room-one star. Strong musty smell, dirty walls, cigarette burns in the carpet. Rundown and in need of major renovation. At one point, maybe still is, this was some kind of weight loss facility. There is still old large scale at the entrance to the office. However there is no spa. Terrible experience all the way around. Ended up walking out within minutes, returned the key and asked for the tax to be refunded to my card. Ruined weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunter Mountain Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Mountain Hotel & Spa

Address: 48 Clover Rd, Hunter, NY 12442
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hunter
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Hunter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best weight loss & the most affordable spa in the USA! Welcome to Hunter Mountain Hotel And Spa, A Respite for Rejuvenation of Body, Mind, and SpiritWe at Hunter Mountain Hotel And Spa would like to extend to you a warm welcome. While some places may offer more luxuries - we are one of the best-known spas for weight loss in the world. We want you to have a stay here that is pleasurable and rewarding; not only in achieving immediate goals, but setting in motion fundamental ongoing benefits for your lifetime.The Spa, set on 15 acres in the Catskill Mountains, has a calm country atmosphere. The emphasis at the Vatra Mountain Valley Spa is on losing weight sensibly and the guests are encouraged to unwind and try new experiences. Crisp mountain air, sunshine, greenery and sparkling brooks make walking on nature trails an inspiring and exhilarating experience. Add years of fun to your life while participating in fitness and total nutritional programs. Follow your plan in the warmth and comfort of this health resort as you are completely pampered by the professionally trained and experienced staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vatra Natural Weight Loss Hotel Hunter
Vatra Spa Hunter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Mountain Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.