We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good christmas dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of VanWinkle's at the Kaatskill Mountain Club

VanWinkle's at the Kaatskill Mountain Club
66 Klein Ave, Hunter, NY 12442
1 (800) HUNTERMTN
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Hunter
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
ny
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good christmas dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

we combined christmas dinner menu with regilar one: it was very positive experience with good food, reasobly priced generous portions and excellent service

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hit or miss, mostly miss.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Been here several times over the last two ski seasons. They have a very cute approach to service. It's half waitress /waiter, half self serve. Many people I have seen there love this! When you can't get a drink, or run out of water, or need a napkin or set up, you usually can just do it yourself. If you look around you can the find the bar, you can find where they put the napkins and set ups, it's all very convenient. The meal took so long I was thinking about going to cook it myself. But lo and behold it came, and by accident they cooked my burger right!

I told one of my guests to stick to the basics but she went off the farm and ordered the pasta bolognese. It really was nothing like the real thing.

While tongue in cheek a bit this review is serious. Good luck with this place. Very inconsistent.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“YUM!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Must try the Crab Cake! We also got to meet the Chef, which was very nice. Nice small selection of wines. The only minus I would say was the lack of ambience music in the dining room, which made other neighboring table's conversations louder than they needed to be. However, overall it was a YuM experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No personality!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Always a good choice for delicious food(great wings & crab cake) but do enjoy the company of the bartenders. We usually sit at the bar for the conversation or they will stop by our table for a chat. Well not so anymore (I suppose you need to be a local). Last night a new server, Ed, definitely was NOT Mr. Personality! In fact he didn't seem to enjoy his job!! Please bring back Joe or Frank!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia suburbs
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The pub fare is blah but the ravioli & gnocchi are fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ate here 2 dinners with our kids. The pub fare (kids cheeseburger, pretzel burger) were blah. The Smoked Mozzarella & Basil Raviolis was incredible...comes with butternut squash, perfect amount of sauce. And my husband had the gnocchi with duck & wild mushroom ragu - excellent! Even the caesar salad was very good. Because of the ravioli, fair prices, and beer on tap, we came back from a second dinner and were not disappointed. A very nice option for those staying slopside

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VanWinkle's at the Kaatskill Mountain Club also viewed

 
Hunter, Catskill Region
 

Been to VanWinkle's at the Kaatskill Mountain Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VanWinkle's at the Kaatskill Mountain Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.