We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surpised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Mountain

Hunter Mountain
Hunter, NY
518-263-4223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 attractions in Hunter
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Popular ski resort providing excellent runs and trails for downhill skiing, snowboarding, snowtubing and snowshoeing.
Brewster, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surpised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

After moving to the East Coast I did not ski enough to keep my skills honed. I went to Hunter Mountain to ski yesterday and was pleasantly surprised with the facility. It's not Utah, but for the east coast nice to find more challenging hills. The ski lessons were affordable & very helpful to tune up my skills. I could not have been more impressed with my instructor, Carlos. He was knowledgable, helpful & encouraging. I really appreciated it!!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    62
    22
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great day trip from NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you like to ski, this is a great day trip option from NYC. You can buy your lift ticket and rentals online in advance and get a percentage off (love that). The mountain is a good size, with a decent variety of trails. The staff was helpful and the snow was good. I'll be going back soon.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Vermont Skiing in Day Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hunter is the only place you can have Vermont type challenging skiing on a day trip. Weekends are crowded, however the Vermont resorts are also crowded on the weekend.They also provide promotions to skiers. I have skied Hunter for over 30 years.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Great Mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

first time skiing and even saw experts. Everything you need you can get at the mountain shops. The trainers are great and the experience was amazing!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My 10 year old took a snowboarding lesson, while my 5 year old and I went snow tubing. It was a lot of fun and there was something for each of them to do.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Mountain also viewed

Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 

Been to Hunter Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.