We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day trip from NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Mountain

Hunter Mountain
Hunter, NY
518-263-4223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Attractions in Hunter
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular ski resort providing excellent runs and trails for downhill skiing, snowboarding, snowtubing and snowshoeing.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great day trip from NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you like to ski, this is a great day trip option from NYC. You can buy your lift ticket and rentals online in advance and get a percentage off (love that). The mountain is a good size, with a decent variety of trails. The staff was helpful and the snow was good. I'll be going back soon.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    75
    29
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Vermont Skiing in Day Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hunter is the only place you can have Vermont type challenging skiing on a day trip. Weekends are crowded, however the Vermont resorts are also crowded on the weekend.They also provide promotions to skiers. I have skied Hunter for over 30 years.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Great Mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

first time skiing and even saw experts. Everything you need you can get at the mountain shops. The trainers are great and the experience was amazing!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My 10 year old took a snowboarding lesson, while my 5 year old and I went snow tubing. It was a lot of fun and there was something for each of them to do.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. James, NY
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Crowded the weekend before New Years but we expected it, good conditions, and the First Aide was top notch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

OK, so there were lift lines but compared to years ago they moved quickly and we never waited more than 10 or 15 minutes. The conditions were really good to great in the morning and got skiied off in the pm but there no bare spots or rocks to avoid. The cafeteria had a wide variety of food but was a bit disorganized. Tables were hard to come by on one of our three days but people were pleasant. It would have been a fun but not especially memorable ski weekend except that my son broke his wrist in the terrain park on the 31st (my husbands birthday) and we negotiated our first true ski injury (snowboard in his case) in over 30 years on the slopes. I have to say the most impressive part of Hunter was the First Aide--a full walk in clinic with a doc that x-rayed and casted my son's wrist in about an hour. He was knowledgeable and caring as was the rest of the staff. Yes, they took Visa and I'll probably not get reimbursed from insurance but when your kid is in pain you can't think of your wallet. The orthopedist at home verified that the diagnosis and treatment were correct.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Mountain also viewed

 
Roxbury, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 

Been to Hunter Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.