We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not worth a return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Mountain

Hunter Mountain
Hunter, NY
518-263-4223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 attractions in Hunter
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Popular ski resort providing excellent runs and trails for downhill skiing, snowboarding, snowtubing and snowshoeing.
Larchmont, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not worth a return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The crowds were enormous, lines horrendous, and the people camping out for the day at tables made it impossible to relax anywhere. We are not skiers, but signed up for over $400 worth of lessons for three people. One of us had 2 lessons of which 1 class was so crowded he couldn't hear the instructor. Our lessons were just as crowded and got nothing out of them. After the lessons we tried on our own and were screamed and cursed at by instructors that we were in the way. I don't know how, since we were so far from everyone that they actually had to come over to where we were to yell at us. NYE the place was absolutely empty and we decided to go tubing. Fun for about an hour. The resort did do a really nice torch parade and fireworks display on NYE. Between the lousy hotel we had to stay in down the road and the cost of the lessons/tickets this trip set us back way over $2,000 for three nights. So not worth it. Will not return.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    60
    21
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great ski conditions but poor facilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The lodge offered pretty depressing fare for lunch and an even less charming crowd. We visited over the New Year's Eve weekend and the crowds of people were quiet rude. Definitely not the civilized ski experience I had hoped for!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Ski Resort but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The goods
- Closest resort to NYC
-Good snow and bit organized
The bads
-Very expensive
-The employees are rude

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“closest somewhat quality mountain to NYC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If it's dumping snow and you live in NYC and want just a day trip, then Hunter is probably your go-to spot. For advanced riders, it'll be your best call if all you can do is that day trip. They do have some quality advanced runs on the West Side, but the problem with this mountain is that it's almost always icy. Also, there really aren't any tree runs. I usually go here as a tune-up to a real mountain.

The good news is that the night life is great! Since it's relatively close to NYC, it can even be a good pick-up spot. Try Slopes in-town.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Epic ski days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just returned from 3 days of skiing in Hunter and it was amazing. The first day the mountain was well groomed and had a decent base of man made snow. Later that evening we got 15 inches of fresh powder dumped in the Catskills and it was beautiful. The mountain was crowded but the trails were in great conditions, the lifts run smooth and efficient and the staff is super friendly. Get there early to get a good parking spot! We were on the mountain at 8 am every day and getting off around 3. No night skiing, but a day like that is long enough. Pack your lunch and a cooler for a good break out in the lot. No hassle, everyone just wants to ski and have a good time. Definitely will be back for a visit!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Mountain also viewed

Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 

Been to Hunter Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hunter Mountain to your Saves list