We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenery out of this World” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Mountain

Hunter Mountain
Hunter, NY
518-263-4223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 attractions in Hunter
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Popular ski resort providing excellent runs and trails for downhill skiing, snowboarding, snowtubing and snowshoeing.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Scenery out of this World”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you have not seen the panoramic scenery of mountains, woodlands, rivers and majestic scenery I would suggest Hunter, NY. Such nature scenes, you will relish forever. We have friends there, so we were fortunate not to worry about motels etc.

Hunter Mountain is world class for skiing, the views are breathtaking, the people are friendly, mostly out of this world for city folk. Take a ride on the chair lift and see the beautiful surrondings which seem to be untouched from many years back. Atmosphere is genuine and restaurants aplenty, mostly smaller establishments where life is laid back and the food is excellent. I highly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    60
    21
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miller Place, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Celtic Festival”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Seems to get smaller every year but still worth a visit. Could use more top rated bands. Take the lift to the mountain top. Really nice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great family vacation place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hunter mountain area is a great place for families to vacation. Great bike and walking trails. Stunning water falls and amazing scenery.
Do some homework and find the hidden gems.
Great for families with kids both teens and younger.
The mountain itself is nice with the chair lift and all.
The surrounding area is what we loved

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Spectacular View from the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A wonderful eperience. Rode to the top of Hunter Mountain on the skilift (called skyride). Was able to hike wome paths and had some breathtaking views.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mid Level Zip Line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was a good time and I am afraid of heights. Safety was of utmost importance. Guides were great. Now that I have done this one, I would try the longer and higher runs.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Mountain also viewed

Woodstock, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 

Been to Hunter Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hunter Mountain to your Saves list