We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary on the outside, pleasant on the inside.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Charles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St. Charles Hotel to your Saves list
St. Charles Hotel
16 Park Place, Hudson, NY 12534   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hudson
Hicksville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Scary on the outside, pleasant on the inside.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had to attend a wedding in Columbia county about eight miles from Hudson. Since I live several hours away, I started looking for a place to stay for Saturday night. There is not much to choose from in the area, unless of course you want to spend big bucks for a bed and breakfast. They looked amazing online, but they were not an option.(Especially for one night). So I went to tripadvisor, which I totally trust and starting looking at the reviews for the St. Charles. It was the only hotel within twenty miles of the wedding. The reviews for the most part, did state clean and comfortable. I figured for one night I'd book it. When we arrived, my husband thought I was joking about staying in 'this place". It really is very rundown, but once inside it was okay. It definitely is a work in progress. Our room was decent, clean and updated. However, the king size bed was very hard. We both like firm, but this was uncomfortable. Like I said it was only for one night, it served our purpose. They did have a continental breakfast setup, which was fairly standard. Coffee was good, fresh little danishes, cereal, etc. The staff was very nice, The overall area near the hotel is very impoverished. Other than Warren St., which houses some antique stores and restaurants, there are so many boarded up buildings and abandoned properties. It's really not a place to visit unless you have business or in our case, a wedding to go to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    20
    14
    13
See reviews for
19
26
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

First off I'll say the room was great, very good bed, clean, well appointed. The overall appearance of the place is (I'm sorry) a flop house, The building has a great old front on the village square, great location for food, antiques, hiking ect., but it looks neglected. Most staff were helpful, Check in at around 9pm seemed to be an inconvenience to the deck clerk. Good location, room, parking, Bad overall look, feeling secure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel was the dirtiest that I have seen. The room wreaked of marijuana and the facility did not look like it had been cleaned. We were there on business, only one night and did not have time to find a different hotel, so we dropped our bags and went about our business. The next morning there was not a drop of hot water. The toiled would not work. And the management did not seem to care AT ALL! Trust the people who posted about the filthy conditions in the previous posts. This place was miserable. Really miserable......

Room Tip: Just find a different hotel. This place is not a bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed here for two nights, and found the room to be more than adequate to fit my needs. There was plenty of parking in the hotel lot, the room was clean and comfortable, and I could walk to just about anywhere in Hudson that I wanted to go. Management was friendly and courteous. The free continental breakfast was not that interesting, but I saved some cash by eating there one of the two mornings. I recommend the St Charles for anyone looking for inexpensive lodging in Hudson.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Don't judge this book by the front cover or facade. The building is pretty but needs some TLC but the rooms are very comfortable, clean and updated. We really liked the location which is about a nice 20 minute stroll from the Hudson Amtrak station walking along Warren St which is the main shopping and eating street. We really liked the staff and the rates were great. Can walk everywhere from here. Glad we found it and almost forgot..free and strong WiFi!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'm really baffled by some of the negative reviews on here. We went to the St. Charles to do some recon for our wedding in summer 2013, expecting the worst. Instead we found a warm, welcoming lobby with a Christmas tree, soft lighting, clean office area for business travelers... and a very helpful and sweet manager, Ricky. She had an injured foot but still took us on a tour of every type of room at the hotel. The hallways are old-school carpeting but they are clean, and the building has preserved charm. They have obviously done many renovations and the rooms are giant by NYC standards, with big beds, nice hardwood desks, flat-screen TVs, and in some cases living areas and mini fridges. One side has park views and you can't beat the quiet location just off Warren. There is also a little cafe area with complimentary breakfast (dry cereals, fruit juices, etc.) It seems a great place for those traveling with kids as you can order rollout beds and cribs for your room, plus there is the adorable Grazin' Diner down the block and a small park just across the street. Bonus: Big, free parking lot so you don't have the hassles of metered parking on Warren.

We immediately booked the entire hotel for our wedding guests, and would not have done so if Ricky was not so stellar at making everyone feel welcome. She has been kind to our family and friends while booking long-distance, too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here one night last week while attending a nearby family event. The hotel lobby is clean and well lit. Not sure when renovations were completed or if they are ongoing but the carpet, etc., in the lobby and the halls looked new. Our room was basic but clean and quiet. The bed was quite comfortable. This is not a luxury hotel and it doesn't claim to be one, but the rates aren't luxury rates either -- and we definitely will stay here again. Both the gentleman who checked us in and the woman who checked us out were pleasant and helpful. A continental breakfast was included in our rate, but we didn't try it because we had made other breakfast plans.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Charles Hotel

Address: 16 Park Place, Hudson, NY 12534
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian ceilings, antiques, fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your St. Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Charles Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.