We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quirky Bistro Francais” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Gamin Country

Le Gamin Country
609 Warren St, Hudson, NY 12534-2842
518-828-2885
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 73 Restaurants in Hudson
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Freehold, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A quirky Bistro Francais”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I am very fond of Le Gamin for reasons beyond the fare that they serve. though I always enjoy the salade nicoisse, the tartine or croissant with my cafe au lait, or the wonderful daily specials and salads. I enjoy Le Gamin because it has a certain atmosphere that I find close to some bistros that I like in Paris, quirky, different, not everyone's "cup of cafe". Confession-I'm am French and enjoy the opportunity to speak it when the opportunity arises, though not a prerequisite in the least.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is our favorite lunch spot in Hudson. The food is always excellent. You have to be patient because the wait can be a little long sometimes. I've seen reviews by people that say the owner is rude, but she's just not going to put up with any nonsense. If you are friendly and relaxed you'll have a great experience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placida, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This unassuming, authentically French cafe was a surprising treat. Lots of different coffees in great cups, service was good and the food was innovative, so fresh and really wonderful. Nicely priced mimosas, bellinis, etc. The decor is right out of a movie - so many fabulous American antiques! Small outdoor area fringing the sidewalk. We loved it!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Omelets and Coffee in Hudson.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I love Le Gamin. The service is hit or miss, and there is great value put on the regulars. But who cares if you're with friends because the food is outstanding, and the atmosphere is delightful. I struggle to shy away from omelets here because they are perfection. Coupled with a cappuccino, I cannot describe a superior breakfast.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A taste of France”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Le Gamin has the atmosphere of a quirky French bistro. There are a lot of appealing items on the menu. And for the most part the food is very tasty. Sometimes the service is slow. But if you are in the mood for some of the more common French fast food items, it's the place to go to.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gamin Country also viewed

 

Been to Le Gamin Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Gamin Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.