We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mistakenly overlooked this place for years!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tanzy's

Tanzy's
223 Warren St, Hudson, NY 12534-2117
518-828-5165
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 70 restaurants in Hudson
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Ghent, New York
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Mistakenly overlooked this place for years!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Goo, basic old-fashioned home cooking and attentive service. Comforting place for breakfast or lunch - or a hot fudge sundae! Nostalgic for a simpler time? This is your place - nothing fancy or pretentious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    30
    10
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great little spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We popped in here for lunch upon arriving in Hudson. Did not have the tea but oberved others and it looked amazing! Started with the best hot cocoa i have ever had (made there). Shared a delicious grilled cheese and turkey pesto sandwich which were both wonderful. Homemade pasta salad was winner. Staff was welcoming and friendly and really knew the menu.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claverack, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comforting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I always look forward to breakfast at Tanzy's. It's like having a great meal in mom's kitchen. When asked to recommend a place to eat in Hudson, Tanzy's is the first place I mention.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Re: Best pancakes ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was in Hudson visiting a friend, and on my way out decided to stop in Tanzy's for breakfast. Great instinctual move. Everything was solid, and a very warm, home-like atmosphere.

Oh, but the pancakes. Had originally ordered the short stack, but figured, "What the hell?" it's only an extra dollar for the regular. Out comes a serving platter the size of my torso with three pancakes, each the size of the entire platter. Spectacular.

After finishing the entire mess, the cook came out to greet me, and informed me I was the first person to do so in 7 years. From now on, she said, the menu item will be known as 'Kevan's Pancakes'. I will be checking in to confirm.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“cute tearoom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Tea is excellent. Plenty of food. Pleasant service and quaint atmosphere.
The Tea is served right along side those eating lunch, but you can be in your little taste of England without noticing other diners.
The owners can't do enough for you to make it a pleasant experience.
Not enough places like Tanzy's around this area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanzy's also viewed

 

Been to Tanzy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanzy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.