We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly corner of Hudson, NY for locals and visitors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wunderbar & Bistro

Wunderbar & Bistro
744 Warren St, Hudson, NY 12534-3013
+1 518-828-0555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 71 Restaurants in Hudson
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Comfort food at affordable prices. Cozy atmosphere with a great beer, wine, and menu selection.
Hudson, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly corner of Hudson, NY for locals and visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great value, great bar, sparkling and attentive servers and bartenders, better-than-average kitchen. Our favorite menu item is the bratwurst/sausage platter. There are billiards and pool in the cozy back room that has a gi-gunda sized flat-screen TV. This is where the locals take their out-of-town guests.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    18
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Had burgers here a few times and would recommend them to anyone. Good beer on tap too. Would definitely go here for a burger fix and skip the way overpriced "Grazin dinner". Better burgers and at $8 a way better price !!! Get some local NY beers on tap while there !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderfull”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

If you just want to have a couple of drinks or just some lunch good place to come to.Good selection of beer on the tap,pleasant sorroundings,good service.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Should be better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

I've never been for an actual meal but more of the bar scene kind of night. The remodeling in the back and decorating in the front has helped give the place new life. While i understand serving drunk.people.can be more than annoying, i do also believe in the importance of customer service. For the most part staff there is friendly, but ive had.numerous encounters with rude bartenders, and that is honestly unacceptable. Your job is to serve.drinks and create a fun atmosphere so people actually.want to.go there. The only reason myself or anyone else goes there is because of how late their last call is, sometimes. The drinks are severely overpriced and the tenders are usually rude so i try not.to even go if i don't have to.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Casual Dining, Good Cooking, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I ate there recently, though it was not our first time there. It is located on the eastern end of Warren Street, away from the trendier and more 'crowded' part. It has a casual feel, with moderate lighting, old wood flooring and a quiet bar as part of the space.

we have never been disappointed with the food here. I had a medium rare steak, which was perfectly cooked, tender and tasty. The grilled shrimp appetizer was a bit overdone. My wife had weiner schnitzel. She kept raving and ate more of the generous porion than she wanted because it wa so good.

The server was very friendly and there just enough to see if we needed anything else.

We will return again. A place for a nice dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wunderbar & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Wunderbar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wunderbar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.