We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All 5 star reviews... and I will not disagree.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FASNY Museum of Firefighting

FASNY Museum of Firefighting
117 Harry Howard Ave., Hudson, NY
518-822-1875
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 Attractions in Hudson
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The premiere collection of firefighting objects in the world, featuring over 90 pieces of apparatus on display. Children’s activities include creative play on fire engines, interactive activities and the McCadam Cheese Fire Safety Discovery Room.
Ashland, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“All 5 star reviews... and I will not disagree.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a well organized museum. First off, we headed to the kid friendly zone in the back of the museum. This section had a number of fire fighter related activity for the kids. With two small boys in the group, however, we knew we had to head to the trucks first. There are 4 different trucks for the kids to climb, "drive", and explore.

For the adults, this museum is chalk full of information, fire fighting related items, and a whole garage full of trucks from different eras. I entered the museum with a slight interest in the history and feeling glad we made the trip. It was amazing to see the fire "trucks" ranging from wagons carrying buckets, to steam engines, to "art deco" trucks, to modern trucks.

My only complaint (if there is one) is that it was hard to contain the kids once they got to sit in one. They kept asking if they could sit in this truck, and this truck, and this truck.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrison
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

As the daughter and sister of firefighters, I was intrigued by the idea of this museum. We went on a quiet, rainy day and spent 2 hgours enthralled by the amazing collection of apparati - one from 1789 - and lots of hands on interactive activities for the kids!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun for kids and adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the perfect size of a museum. There is a very wide assortment of old firefighting vehicles and five of them you can sit on and pretend to drive. They have outfits for kids, puzzles and games, and an amazing collection. Some activities are appropriate for my truck-obsessed toddler and some are better for older kids. But we could have stayed for hours and my daughter would have remained amused.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Top notch! Friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I took our 2 boys (Ages 2 & 4) We were really impressed when we walked in to see just how many trucks they had on display. There were a few trucks that the kids could sit in. Our kids were a little too young but they still had a good time checking out all the firetrucks and they even had some turnout gear for them to try on. They had some really cute stuff in their little gift shop and reasonable prices. Lots of historical info throughout.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fire Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Husbands visited while we shopped. Said it was an incredible place. Make sure to visit if you are in Hudson.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FASNY Museum of Firefighting also viewed

 

Been to FASNY Museum of Firefighting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FASNY Museum of Firefighting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.