We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily the nicest B&B I've ever stayed at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn
10 South Front Street, (Just off Warren Street / Union Street), Hudson, NY 12534   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maplewood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Easily the nicest B&B I've ever stayed at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I wanted a last minute getaway and stumbled upon the Hudson Merchant House. What a find! Immaculate, a gorgeous mix of modern and antique. The owners are so friendly and accommodating and helpful and Roy is a fabulous cook!

I have recommended HMH to friends and will stay there again should I ever return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HudsonMerchantHouse, Owner at Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review. Immaculate, Gorgeous, Friendly & Accommodating? We are blushing! We look forward to hosting you both again to thank you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
69
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

STAY HERE! Trust me! Best in Hudson. Not only has Hudson become one of my favorite spots on the map, but the Hudson Merchant House is a must for my boyfriend and I to go every time we're there. We have multiple friends that live in Hudson, but nothing compares to the precise detail of Roy and Mike's fabulous house. It's out of a story-book. It's perfectly located in the center of all the great shops and restaurants in Hudson. Roy and Mike are quite possibly the sweetest humans. They are spot on with every detail. My personal favorite is the Marilyn Monroe quote on a tiny piece of paper left on a makeup towel. The sheets are soft and delicate, the house always smells dreamy, the food is incredibly delicious. Waking up to the smell of zucchini French Toast was a very happy morning. Also, we're both huge dog lovers so to have their beautiful animals Shelby and Otis there makes us feel just like we're at home. I don't think there's anywhere else you could have a better stay in Hudson. It's truly a special place and I can't say enough about our consummate hosts.

Room Tip: If available, get the room with the private porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HudsonMerchantHouse, Owner at Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review. Pure Perfection like a story book is the highest compliment we have ever received. And the fact that we made you, feel like you were home. Truly warms our hearts. We are thrilled we met and exceeded your expectations. We look forward to hosting you both again (for your fourth time, at the end of the month!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Fabulous property in a terrific Hudson River town. Outstanding hosts made the weekend special with their hospitality, fantastic food, and warm, welcoming personalities. We LOVED our weekend at HMH, it's a "must stay"!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HudsonMerchantHouse, Owner at Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled you enjoyed a great weekend away in our "Fabulous" property. We look forward to hosting you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The house is gorgeous, the breakfast delicious, the hosts welcoming and the hosts' dogs absolutely adorable. The only negative of the entire weekend was the noise. It's an old house and there is little soundproofing. You can hear everything going on in the rooms around you and/or when people come in and out late at night or early in the morning. Otherwise, a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HudsonMerchantHouse, Owner at Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of HMH. We are thrilled you enjoyed our welcoming service and delicious breakfasts. As you had mentioned, still being a home and not a big hotel chain, noise of other guests can be heard, especially wedding guests who enjoy themselves a bit too much and return home a bit too late, we are truly sorry if you were awoken by them. We have already installed additional rugs, etc to hopefully help with the traveling noise.
We look forward to having you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

A five-minute walk from the train station, a few more minutes into the heart of Warren Street's shops & restaurants, delicious hot cooked breakfast buffets, home-baked cookies in the afternoon, a beautifully-renovated house, lovely hosts -- what more could you want out of a weekend getaway? I hope we'll be back before too long.

Room Tip: We were in the Providence Room, which had a shared bath (which wasn't a problem at all). That ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HudsonMerchantHouse, Owner at Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are so happy you took the Amtrak train & realized how great a trip it is & what a short walk to was to your inn. We are also so happy you enjoyed the rest of your weekend too! We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Rarely does a B&B achieve the hospitality trifecta of service, historical/restorative accuracy and
taste! Merchant House nails it 100%. Roy and Mike were consummate hosts. The period home is gorgeous with strict attention to every minutiae of detail and is spotlessly clean. The HMH fits perfectly into the aesthetic/vibe of the town. Breakfast was a delight ( these guys could open a restaurant....) and the welcome cookies were a treat. Nice touches abound: the mini bar is intelligently chosen, your soaps are top shelf and your antiques were not pulled out of a dumpster. My wife and I appreciate the work put into creating the perfect B&B experience, which was achieved! As another visitor has mentioned, THE spot in Hudson. Hands down.

Room Tip: Don't sleep on getting a reservation. These guys are booked -way- in advance!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HudsonMerchantHouse, Owner at Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
WOW! What a review.. Thanks Peter. It was a pleasure hosting you both. Just as you put it, rarely does a B&B hit the trifecta of perfection but thank is thanks in part to your awesome vibe. Guests like you are a welcome addition to HMH. and the idea that we were able to help you rest, relax and rejuvenate here, makes us very happy. Until we see you again, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is one of the greatest B&B experiences that I've had. The Hudson Merchant House is in a perfect location to all that Hudson has to offer. You can walk right from the train station to the Inn, and right from the Inn to all the shops and restaurants down Warren Street.

The Inn itself is a 1700's brick home, yet the interior is decorated and renovated impeccably to keep the charm of the historic home, yet give guests the modern amenities they desire in a "hotel" setting.

The Innkeepers, Mike & Roy, were amazing hosts. Very friendly, accommodating, and inviting...while not being intrusive or scary. The communal breakfast...which you can either enjoy in the dining area or outside in the beautiful garden...was fantastic each day, not to mention the perfect presentation.

I would HIGHLY recommend the Hudson Merchant House to anyone thinking of experiencing upstate New York and looking for a top notch place to lay their head.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HudsonMerchantHouse, Owner at Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your awesome review of HMH. We were honored to host you at our inn and are so happy you were able to enjoy the house as well as all that Hudson had to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn

Address: 10 South Front Street, (Just off Warren Street / Union Street), Hudson, NY 12534
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique inn offering a sophisticated country experience in the heart of a charming turn of the century small city. The 1700s house has been completely renovated & offers updated yet classic finishes with all of the modern conveniences. Perfectly situated, the house is a short stroll from downtown and the Hudson Amtrak train station. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn to your Saves list