We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Little Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn
Save
You added Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn to your Saves list
10 South Front Street, (Just off Warren Street / Union Street), Hudson, NY 12534   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Little Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Thanks Roy and Mike (and Shelby and Otis) for a wonderful stay. The house decor was beautiful, breakfast was scrumptious, and your hospitality was top notch!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HudsonMerchantHouse, Owner at Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Hudson Merchant House . We are even more thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Until then, have a wonderful 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
89
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eastern, US
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

A stay at the Hudson Merchant House is, by itself, a wonderful and memorable experience. Located within walking distance of everything that makes Hudson, NY, a destination, HMH offers a comfort as inviting as a Grandmother's hug. Its nostalgic theme throughout the house, while integrating modern times via contemporary bathrooms and touch pads controlling music to each bedroom, blend a warm vibe that stimulate all five senses. The bedroom was spotless, the bed, blankets and pillows were soft and comfortable; I slept like a log! The Hosts, Mike and Roy, are very warm, hospitable, and can offer suggestions on anything you'd like added to your list of things-you-must-do. The a.m. breakfast alone would bring anyone back. The frittata, a sensitive dish that can easily be botched if not prepared correctly, was served hot, moist, and bursting with flavor. The "slap me" moment came with the zucchini French toast. These were, of course, paired with deliciously prepared potatoes, the best maple-cured sausage I've ever had, fresh fruit, and various other bits of joy that would have over-capacitated my plate (and stomach). My stay at Hudson Merchant House created wonderful memories. I look forward to creating more.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center on-site, but when you're in Hudson, you won't need either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HudsonMerchantHouse, Owner at Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Hudson Merchant House . We are even more thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Until then, have a wonderful 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Was in town for a busy family event and the Hudson Merchant House was just a great place to look forward to at the end of a long day. The home that Mike and Roy have created is beautiful and the Nantucket Room, where we stayed was very clean, comfortable and inviting. Our hosts were very accomodating to our schedule and they helped to make our first B&B experience a very special one. They also provided those lil " attention to detail items" that most people would've overlooked. We really appreciated everything!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HudsonMerchantHouse, Owner at Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Hudson Merchant House . We are even more thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Until then, have a wonderful 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hudson Merchant House this past weekend and I cannot rave about it enough! Mike and Roy are consummate hosts and have thought of every detail to make your stay a first-rate experience. From the crisp white linens, the impeccably furnished and decorated rooms, to the amazing, fresh breakfast they put on each morning - Mike and Roy have thought of everything. The extra touches - like the homemade cookies in your room with a personalized welcome note - make guests feel special and comfortable. I would highly recommend the Hudson Merchant House if you're ever in Hudson, NY. In fact, it's worth a special trip to Hudson, just to stay at this fabulous B&B!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HudsonMerchantHouse, Owner at Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Hudson Merchant House . We are even more thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Until then, have a wonderful 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

As we planed a drive from NYC to Chicago, we found this place by chance via internet and fell in love with the extraordinary interiordesign shown on the photographs. We weren't disappointed and spent a terrific night in Hudson Merchant House. The sunset over hudson river is uniquely beautiful and the town finds itself in an interesting transition process. As recommended by the welcoming hosts Roy & Mike, we had dinner in a fantastic restaurant called DA|BA. Afterwards we had a relaxing night in fine linen. As I had a important online meeting I used their WLAN and it worked great. But the best was yet to come: the breakfast with extraordinary maple syrup, fresh fruit, and a special egg dish was incredible. Thank you!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique – so choose what you like the most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HudsonMerchantHouse, Owner at Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Hudson Merchant House . We are even more thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Until then, have a wonderful 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We were surprised how much we liked this little town on the Hudson. It reminds me of Georgetown, Washington DC from 20 years ago. Lots of nice antique stores, galleries, and places to eat. Its what I would call an up and coming location. The B&B was great and food excellent. You have to like dogs though (we do) since they have 2. The rooms and house are immaculate and everything is new. If you live in NYC, you can take Amtrak. It's only a 2 block walk from station. You can walk to everything in town from B&B. We ate at Swoon, food was good but staff kind of nasty. CaMea was much better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HudsonMerchantHouse, Owner at Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Hudson Merchant House . We are even more thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Until then, have a wonderful 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I attended a recent public event and was bowled over when I first stepped inside the door. This one is a must see!

Room Tip: Take a gander at the delicious website pics and have fun deciding on you room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HudsonMerchantHouse, Owner at Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Hudson Merchant House . We are even more thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Until then, have a wonderful 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn

Address: 10 South Front Street, (Just off Warren Street / Union Street), Hudson, NY 12534
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique inn offering a sophisticated country experience in the heart of a charming turn of the century small city. The 1700s house has been completely renovated & offers updated yet classic finishes with all of the modern conveniences. Perfectly situated, the house is a short stroll from downtown and the Hudson Amtrak train station. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudson Merchant House - A Boutique Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.