We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Croff House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Croff House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
5 Willard Place, Hudson, NY 12534   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at Croff House for one night and then headed to the Finger Lakes area for a few days before heading back to Croff House for another night. Our initial stay was on 18th August. Wouldn't have returned if we weren't extremely happy with our first visit.
Stayed in two different rooms, both lovely.
Breakfast was excellent.
Duncan, our host, was incredibly helpful with advice on where to go, what to see etc
Location nice and quiet, but only a short walk into the town of Hudson. His recommendation for a dinner and live music venue of Club Helsinki was brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the excellent review and for the double stay! We're so happy to enjoyed your visit so much you came back on the return leg of your journey and that the second stay was equally as wonderful as the first. We so appreciate you taking the time to share you experience with others and acknowledge all we do to make a stay at The Croff House special. Thanks again so very much and safe travels home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
203
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glen Head, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

As others have stated, not your typical B&B as far as "cutesy" rooms and decor go. Vibrant color scheme and ecclectic design. We stayed in the largest room, the Esselstyn Suite, which had a fireplace and a gorgeous view. It was immaculate, quiet and romantic. The tub and shower were so relaxing. Duncan and Russ were both easy and friendly hosts. Breakfast was delicious. The complimentary soy candle will serve as a reminder of the lovely trip. One caveat- while the B&B is outstanding, Hudson itself wasn't it for us. Many shops were closed on a Tuesday, and you can tell that this town has seen some hard times in the past. We spent the day in our favorite spot, Rhinebeck. But that is not in any way a reflection on the Croff house, which will meet all of your needs.

Room Tip: Front rooms are more quiet- face a lovely residential street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the wonderful review! In reading your comments it seems the 3-star rating for "Location" was more about Hudson than The Croff House. We agree that the shops being closed at the beginning of the week is frustrating; we've spoken to the Chamber of Commerce and there is little they can do about it. Oh well, missed business for them. Otherwise it seems you both had an excellent stay, for which we are so happy. Give Hudson another try later in the week or on a weekend - you will find it significantly different. Well, thanks again and be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a perfect evening at Croff House after arriving in Hudson by train. It's an easy 12-minute walk from the Amtrak station. The B&B is on an attractive and quiet street, just a few blocks from Hudson's best restaurants and shops. Historically and architecturally, Hudson is an interesting place to visit, and the hosts at Croff House are gracious and helpful. We had a delicious breakfast, and when there was a drenching downpour at the time we needed to walk back to the station, one of the hosts very kindly offered us a ride. The house is beautifully furnished and maintained, and there is a very nice rear yard with fountain. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We thank you so much for the really wonderful review and are so happy you had such a great time at The Croff House (despite the rain!). Hudson is a great town to wander and explore and you seemed to find all sorts of great things to do, see and eat - which is always so much fun. Hopefully we'll see you back again soon. Until then have a wonderful summer and many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Deservedly the #1 ranked B&B in Hudson. Great location (4 minutes' walk from Warren St, the main thoroughfare). Breakfasts were extremely tasty. Bed was very comfortable (we stayed in the smaller of the rooms on the ground floor). Wonderful bathroom. Tasteful decor without the schmalz and gaudiness that typifies so many B&Bs - no ruffles, no cutesy room names, no floral prints. Duncan and Russell were courteous, efficient and very helpful with advice to first-time visitors to Hudson.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks so much for the sensational review - we truly appreciate it! In designing The Croff House we wanted to blend modern amenities while at the same time keeping the historic feeling of the house, avoiding doilies and the like. We're so glad you enjoyed the inn and the services we provide so much. Hopefully you'll be back again soon. Until then, however, thanks a million and enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Croff House, and the house has been nicely refurbished by the owners, Russ and Duncan. Both Russ and Duncan were wonderful hosts and very knowledgeable about the area for hints and recommendations. The overall Hudson city area near the B&B and on their side of Warren Street is a little hit and miss - some beautiful houses, some not. The street fronting the Croff House is somewhat potholed and worn - and the house on one side of the B&B is falling apart and while both of these things are beyond the control of the Croff House, nevertheless they form an impression.

Our room was on the back side of the house and there is audible morning road noise so if that would bother you, you might want to get one of the front rooms. Our room had Dish network, Apple TV and an Ipod-compatible speaker/alarm clock - I suspect all rooms do. Wifi is free throughout the house. NIce bathroom renovations include multi-head showers. A couple of cobwebs here and there in the house. Our room had nIce soft pillows and a firm bed - I slept like a rock.

There is a very nice back porch and small back yard area for a relaxing glass of BYOB wine at the end of the day - and there's a nice wine shop on Warren Street for supplies.

Our other small disappointment was with breakfast -- while the food was excellent every day, it was only served at 9 AM. We would have preferred an earlier time or more flexibility as it prevented us from getting an early start to the day. Also, one in our party thought the breakfasts were a little carb-heavy -- but we also noticed the owners gladly accommodating gluten-free for other visitors.

This B&B is easy walking distance to Warren Street - the main drag for shopping and restaurants. We found that some stores on Warren Street were not open on Tuesdays or Wednesdays, or both, in the summer time.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that rooms on the back of the house are exposed to road noise in the morning. The nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for the feedback you provided. We're happy that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us at The Croff House. However we're sorry that the intermittent traffic sounds as well as the condition of Willard Place were annoying to you, but as you mention there is little we can do about either although we have called City Hall several times and not received a return phone call regarding our street. Cleanliness is a top priority for us and we will speak to our housekeeper about being more diligent. We would have been more than happy to accommodate a different breakfast time for you and apologize if 9:00 didn't meet your needs. Once again thank you for your feedback. We look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend in July and everything about the Croff House was the best we've seen at any B&B and certainly in the Hudson Valley. Impeccable rooms, grounds and hospitality. Breakfasts were amazing! We even took home a few of their homemade jams and preserves. Highly recommend The Croff House!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the wonderful review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at The Croff House with future visitors! We're so happy you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us from the breakfast to the room to our services. We look forward to seeing you both again soon, but until then our sincerest thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a suite booked at Russ and Duncan's brand-new Barlow Hotel for our wedding week, but stayed here one night prior due to a double booking. Lucky us. We slept like kings and loved the quiet luxury of the room, its glorious rain shower, amazing toiletries, and delicious breakfast (which due to wedding diet could not be 100% consumed, sorry guys!). We then were offered use of the adorable living room to assemble welcome bags with my mother, and the guys transported all of our bags over to the Barlow that day. The Croff hosted the groom's family all weekend, and they absolutely loved their stay. Highly recommended! My only regret is that we were too busy to stop and truly enjoy everything the property has to offer. We'll be back in the fall to sit on that porch with a glass of wine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
You guys are the best - thanks for the awesome review! What a great and fun weekend it was, both at The Croff House and at The Barlow. All of your families and friends were so energized and in such a celebratory mood that it made the weekend fun for us too. It was our pleasure to ensure your special weekend went off without a hitch, but more importantly that you got to enjoy all that you had planned for such a long time. We look forward to seeing you back in the Fall and will have the fireplace all set up for you. Until then our best wishes to you both and sincerest thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Croff House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croff House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 Willard Place, Hudson, NY 12534
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just two hours north of New York City on a peaceful cul-de-sac street in historic Hudson, New York The Croff House Bed and Breakfast provides guests a comfortable and welcoming environment in which to relax and unwind with premium quality amenities, full attention to detail, and superior hospitality. Five well-appointed guest rooms and three guest common areas create the perfect blend of traditional design and modern luxury. All guest beds feature plush euro pillowtop mattresses, high thread count sheets and premium down comforters and pillows. Amenities in each private bath include plush cotton towels and robes, luxurious aromatherapy shower products, and personal amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Croff House b&b
The Croff House Hotel Hudson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.