We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside 3 Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside 3 Motel to your Saves list
Surfside 3 Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   164-33 Crossbay Blvd, Howard Beach, NY 11414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howard Beach
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great motel with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

stayed at this motel for 10 nights, nice little place with a great water view, lots of shops and restaurants close by. free shuttle to jfk, bus stop just a few minutes walk away. friendly staff and cleaning provided every day. would definitely recommend and would stay here again when i go back to new york. thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
20
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

found a litle diamond here fantastic staff, clean motel and rooms, bus and trains just mins away, great views from the bedroom right on the water front even being so close to jfk didnt spoil it with planes going over so low, i would recommend this diamond to families and couples, only the second time ive been to new york and i though i couldnt top the first place we stayed in but once again i picked the best place, just mins away from the beach, great eating places, and to top it off free shuttle to and from the airport, stayed here for 10 nights and didnt want to come home, would recomend to families and couples, fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night, as we we flying back home from JFK and needed the hotel nearby.
This one was great, the stuff was very friendly, everything was clean and working well. They also provided us with the free shuttle to the JFK as promised.
What should be said, if you are taking a bus and going across the bridge, do not go too far, as the neighbourhood there seems dangerous.
But the area around hotel is safe and has many places to eat things like pizza, because it seems there are plenty of Italians living here.

Room Tip: The second floor seems better, but we stayed on the first one, but i would prefer second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

shalom we were plesantly surprised about the wonderfull treat of the stuff and the grate services and the kindness of the hotel stuff its a very nice wo memory its was such a wonderful time.we will recomend to our friendsnd family about the hotel.we wish you all the good luck.marlena and vladimir haifa israel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, va
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here in early June. I travel to the area a lot and this is the first time I have a experienced great service throughout my stay with a fare rate as well. Adjacent to a 7 Eleven and Italian eatery so I had no issued getting what I needed at anytime. Clean room, great views. Will be staying here from now on. Marie delievers great customer service!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The last two reviews of this motel are more accurate than the ' glowing' reports previously. Don't be fooled by the pictures. This motel is not boutique or luxurious as described on their website. It is on the verge of the main road and the beach is covered in litter and broken glass. There was no microwave, fridge or facilities to make hot drinks, no iron, not even an ironing board in the facility, towels were small and coarse plus no facecloths and exposed plugs in the walls. We had to wait an hour and a half for a complimentary shuttle. It is also in direct route of overhead planes . The only good thing about this place was the Japanese restaurant down the road. Would definitely not stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I have been in this hotel for the last couple of weeks. For the money I have paid the rooms are in decent shape, but do not expect anything fancy. Cleaning could be better as well as room maintenance. Sometimes the people that work there get very noisy and also some couples that decide to use the "short stay rate", so i definitely recommend bringing ear plugs.

I do recommend it to anybody looking for a cheap and decent hotel to stay overnight due to its proximity to JFK airport

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside 3 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside 3 Motel

Address: 164-33 Crossbay Blvd, Howard Beach, NY 11414
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Howard Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside 3 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside 3 Motel provides an affordable stay right on the water of Howard Beach, NY. Just a few minutes from the beach's best sights and eats! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Surfside 3 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside 3 Hotel Howard Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside 3 Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.