We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed this trip” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 East Mall Road, Horseheads, NY 14845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Horseheads
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed this trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 5 days 10/10/12-10/15/12. I had room service twice while there. Once I even had the bed made. However, the worst part of the stay was the horribly thin, illfitting sheet on the bed. Imagine my surprise when I woke up in the night with the sheet off the bed and me lying on the mattress. Yes, the mattress. There wasn't even a mattress cover. Actually couldn't sleep after that, my imagination went into overdrive. I left the covers off the bed the next day (the one day the bed was remade) but they just straighted the sheet out and pulled up the covers. The breakfast experience was not good. The the one and only toaster wouldn't work...kept blowing the circuit breaker. Everyone was lined up trying to get it to work and the worker there said to just hit the reset breaker on the wall. Ooops, I'm kind of safety conscious and don't really think that is a good idea. The pool seemed nice, but on 2 nights there were some people drinking in the hot tub, and kind of rowdy. This was my 3rd stay at the hotel and both times before I was very happy. I don't know if management has changed, but I don't think I will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb_GMHorseheads, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
First I would like to say thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We apologize that your stay was not up to our usual high standards. We appricate your comments and want you to know that we will act on them immediately. We are currently in the process of replacing our toaster and linen. We thank you for bringing it to our attention. We pride ourselves on great customer service and care to all of our valued guests. We are very sorry that we did not provide that to you on your recent stay. Again we apologize and hope that you will give us the opportunity to offer you and your family the best possible stay when you return to the Horseheads area. If you would like the opportunity to talk with me directly, please feel free to give me a call at 607-739-9205.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    48
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
57
44
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were pleased with our recent stay here. The staff was friendly and helpful and seemed to enjoy their work unlike some other places I have stayed at. The room was clean and and the breakfast was plentiful. Small fitness room, but all of the equipment appeared to be in good working condition. The fresh cookies at the desk was an an added bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb_GMHorseheads, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the Country Inn and Suites. It is alway nice to know that we were able to accommodate your needs, and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Horseheads.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Wow... if all hotels staff could be this helpful. The room was nice as well as the breakfast. The hallway could have used some cleaning.. the autumn leaves blew in a side entrance and for 2 days no one cleaned them up. We didn't use the pool or spa but we saw others using it. It looked clean. The breakfast and snacks were plentiful and fresh. Special thanks to Katrina.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb_GMHorseheads, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
On behalf of the Management and staff at the Country Inn and Suites we would like to thank you for the exceptional review. It is always are goal to provide our guests with the best customer service. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Friendly staff, clean rooms, great breakfast area, as well as warm cozy fireplace/seating area just off lobby. We loved this place, and will be back when we make our bi-annual trip to Upstate NY each year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb_GMHorseheads, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Country Inn and Suites. We take pride in providing exceptional customer service and satisfaction for each and every guest. We look forward to your next visit to our area and thanks again for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Very clean quiet hotel. Wonderfyul breakfast and friendly staff. Only downside is elevator at one end away from desk and breakfast area so it entails walking the length and back once you get to your room. My hubby is on oxygen so it is an issue. We will solve it next time by asking for a first floor room on the handicap parking side. It was 15min from the college going down rt 14 probably the same if you get on 17 and exit at Elmira 2 down. If you come from the West exit 51a as there is none at b from the west and n o a coming from the east. We were there to bring things for the granddaughter moving in at the college and returning grandson to daughter. We will use this often as we will pick up grand for Oct long weekend and for Thanksgiving. only adds an hour to our trip so can be done in one day but we will stay over.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb_GMHorseheads, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so very much for your valued comments about the Country Inn and Suites in Horseheads, New York. It is always our goal and pleasure to see our guests satisfied with their entire stay. The staff and management look forward to seeing you next time you come to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had booked a standard room and received my confirmation email with an upgrade eligibility option. We selected the option to be upgraded to a suite (if available upon check in). To my surprise, we received my upgrade to a king room suite for a very small upgrade fee. The room was so cozy; it made me feel like we were in our own bedroom. It had a separate living room and bedroom area (divided by French doors). The living room had a ceiling fan (we have never been in a hotel that had one; which probably added to the coziness). It is conveniently located off the highway but yet there was no traffic noise in the rooms. The back of the hotel has a pond with picnic tables and a BBQ grill. The grill is nice; it can save families a couple bucks by grilling instead of going out to eat. The pool isn’t huge but is nice sized with a separate hot tub. The pool and gym area were very clean as well as the rest of the hotel. The only negative about this place is the front entrance doors are not automatic doors so if you have more than one bag or are using the luggage cart, you will struggle a little with holding the door open while bringing in your luggage (or hopefully someone will be there to hold the door open for you). Overall we enjoyed our stay and if we are ever in the area again we will defiantly enjoy my stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb_GMHorseheads, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We at the Country Inn and Suites would like to that you for the wonderful review. We believe great customer service keeps are loyal customers coming back, and we hope that you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to the area. Thanks again for letting us know how we did during your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Good hotel. I have been staying here for the past 4 years. Location is right off the highway with a couple restaurants right next door/across the street. Prices the best in Elmira. Not actually in Elmira. Close to retail plazas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb_GMHorseheads, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I would like to thank you very much for your continued loyalty to the Country Inn and Suites during your travels to our area. We enjoy doing the little extras for our guests to ensure that they feel welcomed an comfortable during your stay. Thank you again for the great review and recommending us to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats

Address: 105 East Mall Road, Horseheads, NY 14845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Horseheads
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Horseheads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to invite you to a warm and cozy hotel in the horseheads area located next to arnot mall lot's of shopping and great places to have dinner. We are in the beautiful Fingerlakes region! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats Hotel Horseheads
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Big Flats
Country Inn Horseheads
Horseheads Country Inn
Country Inn Big Flats

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.