We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Arnot Road, Horseheads, NY 14845   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Home for the Holidays
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Horseheads
North Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

This is a very good Hilton Garden Inn in a mall-like setting. Everything was new and functioned well. The customer service was superb -- I forgot my prescription drugs in my room and the hotel sent them to my home by next-day FedEx, at no charge to me. I will not forget this.

  • Liked — Superb customer service
  • Disliked — Surrounded by malls, nothing interesting to walk to.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    70
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
61
60
9
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

I chose this hotel based on the proximity to Ithaca, New York and also on it's reputation. This is also a review to alert other parents of Cornell University Graduates who may not be aware of the system in Ithaca during the May graduation process. Most Ithaca hotels hold a lottery type system. You can not book reservations no more than a year in advance, and even then, they have a lottery system. One has a system where you call in during a certain week, and only then; one has a system where you send in the dates you want and they basically draw your name out "of a hat", etc. If you don't win, you better start searching as close as possible right away! When I booked our reservations at the Hilton in Horseheads, (a year in advance) the girl said "Congratulations". I said, "for what, my son graduating from Cornell, or finding a place to stay?" She replied, "Both". When we arrived, the check in clerk asked me if this was for the Cornell graduation. If you play dumb and say you're staying there for another reason, you may get cheaper rates, I don't know. (Ours was $211. a night and we had a king suite because that was all we could get, and I'm glad because it was really NICE!).Oh and by the way, they charged my credit card for the reservations, the week before our arrival. If you don't change your reservations the week before, you are stuck with the bill.

Horseheads is about 30 to 45 mins. away from Ithaca, depending on traffic.

The hotel is very nice, very clean, and right across the street from the Arnot Mall, a BIG mall with lots of stores, a multi movie cineplex, an arcade. There are several restaurants within a block, the Outback, the Red Lobster, Ruby Tuesday, the Olive Garden, Chilis. The hotel also has a very nice, though small, restaurant that serves breakfast and dinner, and a small bar. The breakfast bar was very nice with a lot of selections., a little pricey at $9.95 but it was all you could eat. You could have your eggs any way you wanted including omelets, although on Graduation Day, I ordered poached eggs and the cook said I would have to wait, it would take too long to heat the water????? For poached eggs?? I guess he was overwhelmed because I think there were a lot of Cornell people there. I ordered suuny side up instead and they were good, but it took a while (longer than poached eggs would have taken). Then they spilled syrup on my younger sons pancakes and were going to make new ones, (which was a nice offer) but he said don't because "I was putting syrup on them anyway!"

The hotel is "green" so if you want your sheets and towels changed every day, you have to leave a certain card on your bed pillow and throw your towels on the floor so they know to change these things. I'm all for conserving, but when I'm on a vacation and paying $211. a night, I'm sorry, but I want clean EVERYTHING EVERYDAY I'm there!

The hotel was clean, the bed pillows VERY VERY COMFORTABLE, the bed DITTO, overall, a great place to stay!

  • Liked — The cleanliness, comfortable rooms,, the mall and restaurants within walking distance, the airfield and museum nearby
  • Disliked — Having to put a postcard on the bed to have the sheets changed each day and throwing the towels on the floor every day to get clean ones
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

The hotel was excellent! I travel periodically and stay at various hotels and I found this one to be on the top of my list. The rooms were immaculate! The bathrooms were immaculate! The service was EXCEPTIONAL! I checked in at 9:40pm and immediately went to the restaurant (which closed at 10pm). The restaurant was preparing to close and rendered my family and I with PERFECT service! You have to try the prime rib special on Saturdays for only 10.95! The breakfast station was awesome. The servers were awesome! The room service was AWESOME! The swimming area was clean and my children enjoyed it as it was perfect for small children 5 feet and below. I truly do not have one complaint. The front desk gentlemen, even tied my children's tie without hesitation. I would recommend this hotel 100%. Needless to stay, I am going to stay again, when I go down to visit my Nana.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

very nice hotel only thing i found was no fan in bathroom and soft water othert han that a great hotel. nice pool great . will stay again when in area

  • Liked — the clean room
  • Disliked — no fan and soft water in bathroom
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

I'd highly recommend this hotel. My husband and I spent 2 days here while he attended a conference. The bed was especially comfortable with a choice of foam or feather pillows. Close to attractions in Corning, NY and about 20-30 min. to the Finger Lake area and Watkins Glen. I recommend hiking the Gorge at Watkins Glen. Absolutely gorgeous.

  • Liked — The very comfortable beds & nice hot tub
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

My husband and I were in town for a school reunion. We stayed here two nights before moving down the street to another hotel where the reunion was being held. We found the room to be very comfortable. The
beds were divine as were the linens. I was thrilled to see a coffee maker, a microwave and a refigerator. All were used during our stay.
The hotel does not charge for local calls, and if you made any long distance calls, the first 60 minutes were free. I have never seen that anywhere else I have been. Breakfast was very good with a wide varity of breakfast choices. Being a swimmer, I did use the swimming pool. It may not as been as warm as some are used to, but I enjoy cooler water and enjoyed it very much. A nice touch is the big shower room just off the pool. I did not use the exercise area but did see quite a few people using the equipment. I did not bring my laptop, and used the business room that had free computer use and other business functions. I also love getting the free newspaper every morning. The Neutrogena products were also very nice. I thought
this hotel was absolutely comfortable and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds and indoor pool
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

Very solid property, great service, great breakfast, good workout facility, very clean rooms, top notch hotel for business travelers

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning

Address: 35 Arnot Road, Horseheads, NY 14845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Horseheads
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Horseheads
#2 Family Hotel in Horseheads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great customer service and a warm hospitable environment greet you at the Hilton Garden Inn Elmira/Corning. Relax in our indoor pool and whirlpool, or work out in our exercise room. Enjoy a delicious meal at our Great American Grill restaurant or in our Ernie Davis Lounge. Open daily. Computer access available in our business center. Conveniently located in the heart of the Finger Lakes Region. Minutes from Watkins Glen, golf, shopping, wineries and local area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning Hotel Horseheads
Hilton Garden Inn Horseheads
Hilton Horseheads
Horseheads Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.