We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Arnot Road, Horseheads, NY 14845   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Horseheads
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed there with a year old baby last weekend. Stuff was friendly. Breakfast had very good assortment. Rooms were clean. Beds were comfy. And it's a good location if you are there to explore local parks and waterfalls.

Room Tip: if you are traveling with a baby, keep in mind that they have rooms with bath tabs and without.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda c, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your recent review for the Hampton Inn Elmira Horseheads on Trip Advisor. We take pride in providing ultimate guest service. We value your business and hope that you consider the Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads a home away from home. We look forward to seeing you during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    49
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
76
46
9
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We took our end of summer weekend trip to the Corning/Elmira this year and stayed at the Hampton Inn based on other reviews on TripAdvisor. It was a good choice.

The hotel appears relatively new. We chose the King Bed Study for the extra space and comfort. The bed was great, the TV actually delivered HD (not like most hotels which only have a stretched standard defintion picture) and had a very good channel lineup. Internet connection was good.

Minor cons: there were no drinking cups when we arrived, on the second day there we came back from a day trip after 4:00PM and found the room was not cleaned. The stall shower was very narrow. Standing inside you found yourself either hitting the grab bar or the glass shower door. We also found that looking closely at some of the surfaces in the bathroom and bedroom showed some pretty dusty areas. A little more attention to detail would be in order.

The hot breakfast was better than expected with a good variety and the offerings were well stocked. The eating area was larger than most we see these days as well.

Our room on the fourth floor was very quiet. We didn't hear other nearby occupants or any traffic noise. Room temperature was easy to regulate and consistent.

We will try this hotel again. I'll give housekeeping the benefit of the doubt - maybe they were short staffed. The front desk personnel were outstanding (and the mints were fantastic).

I like the location, it was convenient for day trips and very easy on and off the interstate. It's a relatively short drive to Corning and area wineries. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and opportunities for shopping.

Don't pass this one up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda c, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank You for your review on the Hampton Inn Elmira Horseheads on Trip Advisor. We value your business and hope that you consider the Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads a home away from home.

We look forward to seeing you during your future Twin Tiers travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here one night but we could have stayed a week. We had a king size bed with whirlpool tub suite which was large and very nice, with microwave and fridge. The wireless internet worked well. Nice large washroom. Clean and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed at the Hampton Inn Elmira / Horseheads in July of this year. Unfortunately under construction at the time I had a less than pleasant experience.

The room I was booked into was adjacent to the ongoing construction on the first floor. I got in late in the evening and was counting on some extra sleep before a presentation I had to give late morning. I awoke to the sounds of fans, banging on walls, nail guns, etc at 7:45 AM when the work on renovation began.

It is unfortunate that the workers could not be held back until a more reasonable hour for the start of the workday. Also, that I was not made aware at time of booking that the property was under construction. Otherwise, without the noise and construction (which is kind of a big deal when sleep is the objective), the property is in rather pristine shape and very comfortable. I imagine it will be one of the nicer Hampton Inn's at such a time where work is complete. It really should be for the price of the room...this was the most I have ever paid for a Hampton Inn and about the same as I pay for the more premium brands in larger cities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Corning area is so expensive in the summer, and I was really pleased to find this place. It's only a 10-15 minute drive to Corning from the hotel, and it's right off the highway. Everything was impeccably clean and comfortable; the common area downstairs has coffee and hot water for tea and hot chocolate any time of day or night. The included breakfast was easy and just right - from make-you-own waffle to yogurt, you can find what you need. There's plenty of room there, as well - not a crowded little space like some hotel breakfast areas. The extra bonus is the pool - not deep enough for real exercise, but a nice little spot to take a dip. I will definitely return if I can get a good rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Although under renovation (July 2012), stay was comfortable. The staff was accommodating and ensured that the renovation disruption was minimal. The property, having been renovated surely has a very fresh and modern look. Breakfast is standard Hampton breakfast. We carried our own pack and play for our infant. Otherwise we were being quoted $10 extra. I feel the crib should be complimentary, but I guess I understand why they charge for it.

Room Tip: During the construction, try requesting a room as far from the current construction activity
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We went to the Finger Lakes for a wine tasting weekend - very nice area with lots of good restaurants around. The hotel is very nice with a VERY nice staff - the only bad thing is construction! They are adding an addition - so ask for a room away from the construction - especially if you like to sleep in - they start early.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads

Address: 51 Arnot Road, Horseheads, NY 14845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Horseheads
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Horseheads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads Hotel Horseheads

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.