We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Search of Good Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Duomo

Il Duomo
Bernardo Quintana 32 Col. Calesa II seccioon de chapultepec, Queretaro 76100, Mexico
4422137768985
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 361 Restaurants in Queretaro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“In Search of Good Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We showed up without a reservation and they found us a nice table. The service is impeccable; the waiters very kind and friendly. We just had a glass of wine, but noticed those who ordered a bottle had it decanted and poured. Waiters were there when needed without hovering. Very, very good olive oil was at the table; bread was brought out immediately, and hot - very tasty. Our food came quicker than expected and cooked perfectly. We had the spaghetti w/clams and carbonara. No mushy pasta at this place. Both dishes were very tasty. We finished it off with gelato that was better than expected. Most gelatos outside of Italy I find unappealing. This one was quite good. Overall, I highly recommend this restaurant and will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    42
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queretaro, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not so good as others stated.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

First of all, it is not "just S of los Arcos", but it is "just N of los Arcos", on the E side of B. Quintana.
It is in a good position, with a good service. That's it.
It is a noisy place, overall overrated. I've been there a couple of times, and either people never ate italian, or they are kidding. The food is average, pizza is bad, it likes and tastes like a tortilla with tomato sauce and cheese on top.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite Italian restaurant in Mexico to date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Yesterday, my wife and I treated ourselves by returning to Il Duomo on one of our monthly trips to Queretaro. Once again, we were not disappointed! We are always seated immediately even though this is a very popular restaurant. Our waiter introduced himself and his manager. Everyone we dealt with was extremely polite and friendly. The service was top notch. We ordered minestrone soup that was tasty and very fresh (our preference is for a more thick and hearty minestrone but this was very good), an thoroughly outstanding pizza as well as pesto pasta with fettuccine. With all this, they served an excellent loaf of homemade bread along with seasoned olive oil. When you go, ask for Eric to be your waiter. He's got quite a personality, speaks excellent English, encouraged me to use my Spanish and generally made our experience all that much better. For all that we ordered, we left feeling that it was an outstanding value for the money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hard to find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We told our taxi driver "Bernardo Quintana, justo al sur de Los Arcos" and e could not find it. Maybe he didn't know the difference between north and south! He stopped twice to ask, and after finally arriving, the taxi fare was triple what it should have been. But, alas, we were there! We stepped inside to learn that the kitchen closes early on Sunday. Hopefully we'll get there before we head home in a few days.

We don't want to affect their overall rating, not having eaten there, but for the sake of others, here are the phone numbers and address. 2137768 and 2236909. Bernardo Quintana No. 32 Col. Calesa C. P.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Real top notch Italian food with excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The restaurant is located along a busy freeway where you might not notice it unless you were looking for it. My wife spotted it as we were going by and commented on the fully occupied parking lot which is always a good sign.

We called and reserved a table for three and arrived at 7 PM. A courteous receptionist escorted us to our table. Upon arrival, the restaurant was about 50% occupied. We were immediately served by a friendly waiter who brought bread and filled a plate with oil and thankfully no balsamic vinigar which is served in the US but not in Italy.

We ordered an appetizer for all three and three different main courses which went from ravioli to seafood pasta and beef ribs. Everyone was totally happy with what they received! Our dinner was accompanied by a wonderful bottle of wine from Tuscany and we finished off with cheese, a chocolate vulvano, a glass of port and a couple of Bailys on the rocks.

Including a well deserved 20% tip, the dinner came in at just under $70.00 per person and was worth the price paid. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone who appreciates an excellent meal!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Duomo also viewed

Queretaro, Queretaro
Queretaro, Queretaro
 
Queretaro, Queretaro
Queretaro, Queretaro
 

Been to Il Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Duomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.