We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better run historic hotels in central Queretaro” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meson de la Merced

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Meson de la Merced to your Saves list
Hotel Meson de la Merced
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   16 de Septiembre no 95 ote | Centro Historico, Queretaro, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 32 Queretaro B&B and Inns
Coastal California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“There are better run historic hotels in central Queretaro”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

First the good: the room was just want we wanted for a couple and another person traveling together. A three level suite with great little sitting area on first level, twin mattress on second loft level and very comfortable (not too hard) king bed on third level where servicable bathroom also located. Note no door between third level bedroom and bathroom, so if second level guest comes up to use facilities everyone will know. Breakfast was a delight: the breakfast cook prepares beautiful eggs and makes a delicious green sauce. Continental breakfast was included in our rate, and the very honest management gave credit for what the continental would have cost when the more expensive full breakfast items are ordered.

Second the average: it's a typical central Queretaro nice historic hotel. We've stayed in Queretaro many times and the historical hotels are located in either former big houses or haciendas with rooms around a central patio. Nothing good or bad about the architecture, just the usual.

The not so good: irritating that every night we had to ask for a third set of towels. To me it should have been obvious to the chambermaid that three people were staying in the room in that she kept making the beds used by three people and taking away three sets of used towels. But for our three night stay we only got two sets of towels refreshed nightly so had to ask at the front desk. Front desk team surly and grudging with dispensing of said towels; no "of course, let me get that extra set right to you." Front desk staff not helpful about excursions or what to do in the city. One breakfast waiter seemed to know how to serve, but others couldn't generate the charges right or refill everyone's coffee cups at the same rounds (so just one person at our table would get coffee and the other two cups would sit empty). The issue didn't appear to be staff interest in doing a good job serving, rather training.

Bottom line: until evident that the management brings the service quality up, I recommend Casona de la Republica, Dona Urraca or Casa de la marquesa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
12
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thiells, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel offered much more than was expected. Our "room" was more like a condo or colonial townhouse. It had three levels: the first had a living room and a bar with a fridge. The second was more of a loft space overlooking the first level. There was a futon style bed there. The top floor was the actual room that was airy, with lots of room, exposed wooden beams on the ceiling. It also had a small table and floor to ceiling window that opened to the main courtyard. The bathroom was also on this floor and was very clean. I loved everything about this room. The bed was comfortable. The wi-fi connection in the room was weak if you moved too far from the window - probably the only complaint.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room came with continental breakfast. You could order something more substantial at an extra (but reasonable cost). You have a breakfast on a small terrace overlooking the hotel's central courtyard. The courtyard is wonderful place to sit among fruit trees and a fountain after a day of sightseeing.

The location is excellent because it is very close to the historic center, but it is just far enough that you avoid all the noise from the center.

The rates were very reasonable and they did not add on any extra charges.

The only warning is that the rooms with multiple levels do require going up some steep stairs, some without handrails. I could see this being a problem with someone with limited mobility.

Definitely would love to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The decoration in this place is amazing. It´s like traveling back in time with antique furniture and high ceilings with wooden beams. The hotel is only a few blocks away from the main plaza, about a five min walk. Most of the rooms have more than one floor, but there are single floor rooms that are just as nice and very cozy. We were satisfied with the price, location, and service. I would definetly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Located close to the Centro Historico district. Provided free parking which is important as parking can be difficult to obtain in many of the colonial cities in mexico. We parked car & didn't need it until we checked out. Taxi's are very cheap here. Hotel staff were very helpful & always very attentive to our needs. Room was very clean,comfortable beds,ac that worked. Not the type of room for someone who has any type of difficulty with stairs as bathroom & king bed is located on Third floor. Second floor has sofa bed. We enjoyed the room very much. Also hotel is located in a very quiet area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Meson de la Merced is a charming old building located at a walking distance to the Centro Historico. Very quiet, clean and spacious rooms. Beautiful courtyard and friendly staff. The old building might not offer the same as International hotels do, but the charming environment, the friendly staff and the peaceful ambiente compensate this by far. If you are looking for something special, Mesóon de la Merced is highly recommendable!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Quiet and comfortable. Easy walking to historical central district. Employees were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Air conditioning is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

I decided into this hotel because it was close to the city center. It was my first time in Queretaro, and I read about wonderful historic places in this city.
Traveling a lot for business, and staying in mostly US large chains, this was a change, and a great change. I would stay in this hotel again.


  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Meson de la Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson de la Merced

Address: 16 de Septiembre no 95 ote | Centro Historico, Queretaro, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Queretaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meson de la Merced 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Meson de la Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meson de la Merced, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.