We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kuku Ruku Green Boutique House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kuku Ruku Green Boutique House to your Saves list
Kuku Ruku Green Boutique House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vergara 12 | Centro, Queretaro 76000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Queretaro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Somerville, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a nice hotel with great artwork. But the rooms are more artistic than practical -- no chair or place to sit down to read or write, no hangers. The toilet in the room didn't work several times. The breakfast was disappointing -- toast or corn flakes. I expected more for the price. Avoid the room on the first floor next to the stairs as it's noisy,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    58
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
22
63
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irapuato, Guanajuato, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The place is well located, really clean, quiet and the staff is very nice. The design is modern and youthful, breakfast included, lockers in the dorm rooms, parking space in the street...

I stay there all the time, my best option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Green hostal/hotel right in the centre of Querétaro. It's not cheap, not expensive - 1000 pesos a night in a double room. The hostal is less expensive but you'll have to share a room with three or four people... The breakfast is quite good, you can select from a variety of mexican or continental dishes. The room is really nice, except for the funny smell coming from the toilet. The water is re-used, explaining the smell... The room is quiet and clean, the bed quite comfortable. The wifi is very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campeche, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a very good time at Kuku Ruku. It´s a peaceful place. My 10 year old daughter felt inspired by this example of Green Boutique House with the info on the walls. My daughter and sons were free to play on the clean rooms and the beds are safe for them. We love the modern design and we take a lot of photos. The bar on the roof is also wonderful, we loved the view.
I have been in other hostals in Querétaro and I can say this is the best option. I highly recommend this eco-friendly hostel by price, location, quality and design!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Thanks for give a relaxing time. They have dorm room and private room.
I stayed in dorm room cost 160 Peso including breakfast. It's so good cost performance.
It's the best hostel where I stay in Mexico.
Thanks for give me a good time!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I had an amazing stay at kuku ruku this June. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are extremely helpful! The hotel bar on the roof is also wonderful, with great views of the city. I recommend this hotel to all. I usually don’t fill out trip advisor reviews, but I loved this hotel so much that I felt motivated to post something. It really is a gem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed in this eco-friendly hostel after having a horrible experience in another hostel on our first night in Queretaro!
The staff is friendly and very helpful when we asked about the tours. Our room was very clean with a modern design (my friend who stayed in a separate room had a different design) but all within the same theme..
Excellent location, a block away from the market.
I'd definitely come back to Kuku Ruku!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kuku Ruku Green Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuku Ruku Green Boutique House

Address: Vergara 12 | Centro, Queretaro 76000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Queretaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kuku Ruku Green Boutique House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a renovated colonial house in the heart of Queretaro's historical city center, Kuku Ruku offers a variety of modern, fresh and clean rooms with comfy beds. The in-house restaurant offers a healthy and local menu everyday. The Rooftop terrace/bar is a great place to meet fellow travelers, savor great cocktails, enjoy the amazing view of Queretaro city center and music/art events. A great option for environmentally and wallet- conscious travellers. Kuku Ruku prides itself on its dedication to preserving the environment: lighting powered by solar panels, rainwater collection system, recycling and reuse of water used and green roofs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Kuku Ruku Green Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuku Ruku Green Boutique House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.